2017 seems to be the year of changes.

Well, life is never boring for me that’s for sure. Around a month or so ago, things couldn’t have been better at my new job.

I’d gotten to know my route well, I was delivering more and more parcels and earning very good money I thought.

But then I sat down and actually worked out the hours I’d been working and the hourly wage wasn’t as good as I thought.

Then I got told that I’d have to work every other weekend, which wasn’t part of what I agreed to when I signed up to this new job.

I had no choice either. Work the days required or I could go.

Those exact words weren’t said, but they were implied.

Alas, here we are a few weeks later and I’m now leaving this new job.

What the actual fuck.

It seems working for the best courier company in the country comes with it’s downside. One of them being it wants it’s delivery drivers to work until their dead.

That might seem a bit drastic, but that’s how every driver I’ve spoken to recently feels like.

I’m aware that if you want to earn very good money in delivery driving, you have to put the hours in, but with 55hr+ 5 day weeks, every week, plus a 65hr+ week every other week now part of the equasion, they can fuck right off if they think I’m doing that.

I don’t want money that badly.

Sure I have debt to pay off, but I’m not willing to give my working life to a company that doesn’t appreciate it’s drivers.

Working for the best courier company in the country should have it’s perks. But that very same courier company doesn’t seem to want to make life easier for it’s drivers.

Having the same issues occur day in day out and still expecting the drivers to put in 11hr days every single day is just plain madness.

But wait, the pay is very good, so you’ll do what we tell you.

And there is me thinking I was self employed and could do what I wanted.

Pah, what a niave little boy you were WeeMan.

Anyway, no point in mulling on things.

I’m apparently self employed and so I am leaving on short notice, they can fuck off.

It’ll cause problems for the small depot and some of the people who work there. I’m sorry for those people. They don’t deserve the extra work load, but tough, that’s what comes from working for the best courier company in the country apparently.

I’ve had enough of high volume multi-drop work and I’ve only been doing it for 4 months or so.

It’s time to take a step back, get a normal 45hr max working week job that only wants me to work the ocassional weekend, once a month maybe with the ocassional bank holiday thrown in.

It’ll be less money for sure, but then I’ll have the free time and energy to enjoy lifes simple things.

It’s seen me right until now, it’ll see me right once again.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

