A month goes by, all work no play. No weightlifting either! :(

Blimey, this last month has whizzed by. It’s been great earning a lot more money in my new job, but man it’s been tiring.

I worked 12 days straight during this month and it really whacked me, seeing as though most of the days were 12hr days too.

But now that I’m out the other side as it were, I can look back at a great month for money earning and for learning. I’ve learnt so much about my new job during this last month that I’m really starting to get to grips with it.

I thought that delivery driving was pretty easy, but when there are numerous finding address issues, oversized and overweight parcels, traffic issues, parking issues, customers not being in when they say, customers saying they haven’t received parcels when they have, on top of all the internal procedures I have to follow due to the high value of some of the parcels I deliver and it all adds up to a hell of a lot to learn.

So much more than I thought there would be that’s for sure.

But to make it all that little bit easier, I know that I’m earning nearly 100% more than I was in my previous job. Which is what I’ve been telling myself every day for the last month.

I don’t know for real yet what my actual month to month wage will be because I’ve been on a training wage for this last month, which means my wages have been topped up by the company.

This is one of the reasons why I joined this particular delivery company. Simply because no other delivery company offered this, nor the potential wage earnings either.

I can see that as long as I do my job, I will be able to earn what I’ve been told. But it might mean doing 12hr days five days a week one week, then six days the next week.

If that’s the case then in a few months time, I’ll be re-evaluating whether I want to stay here, as I know that elsewhere I can work much fewer hours for only a little less pay being a HGV driver.

I’ve decided to give this job a good three full months, or until my 40th birthday in July. And then I’ll make a definite decision after that.

I don’t mind doing 10hr days fives days a week, but when it creeps up to 12hrs every day, it starts getting a bit too much, even with the added income.

We’ll see how it goes.

Aside from work, I’ve not had the time nor energy to do much else. Until this weekend that is.

This weekend has been amazing in that I’ve had 3 days off for the first time in months, and have finally been able to get into the garden and do some tinkering with stuff, which has been good.

I’ve played video games, watched plenty of football and generally just lazed around the house and I’m feeling pretty refreshed for all this lazing around, which is great!

One thing I’m not really happy with since starting my new job is not doing any weight lifting what so ever.

Lifting 100-200 parcels of varying weights from 1kg to 35kg every single day really does tire you out more than you think.

Most evenings for the last month, I’ve got home feeling drained and physically exhausted.

I did a tiny amount of exercise for a few days over the first few weeks, but since then I’ve been so whacked physically every evening, I’ve just not felt like lifting anything other than my fork to shove food in my mouth!

One bonus of being so active in my new job is that my belly fat from Christmas has well and truly gone now, which reminds me, I need to take some measurements tomorrow morning.

Due to the lack of weight lifting, my lovely muscles have shrunk too, most noticeably in my back and chest.

Anyway, I’m not too worried, I know I can put the muscle back on soon enough, I just need to start lifting a little every other night and my body will soon adjust and I’ll be back working out properly a few times a week soon enough.

I do need to eat more food though to gain any muscle, as I think I’ve found the balance of what I’ve been eating to what I’ve been doing physically each day. But now that I want to start lifting weights again, I’ll need to add in some more food somewhere in the day.

I don’t feel hungry first thing in the mornings, so I’m still having my protein raw milkshakes, and then when I’m out driving, I take a small lunch with me as I don’t feel hungry whilst out delivering either.

So I need to come home, do some form of weight lifting and then shove a load of food in my face as I definitely feel hungry in the evenings. Well, as long as I’m home before 8 pm that is.

I start at 7 am and have been getting home mostly around 6-7pm. But some nights I get home gone 8 pm and just don’t feel hungry at all. I look back on the day and think to myself, I’ve literally had fuck all to eat, how am I not hungry?

Then I look in the mirror and at my physique and understand why. My body has been feeding on the excess body fat I’ve had, as well as the muscle.

So I need to sort out the weight lifting and the eating now that I’ve gotten used to the job physically.

Oh man. There was me thinking I’d gotten through the tiring days. The next month is going to be a right bitch.

Oh well, suck it butter cup!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

