New job, new beginnings and all that.

Not posted a diary entry for a whole month. Not felt the desire to write anything down, it’s been a productive month though, I’ve finally got a new job, whoop!

Ironically it’s not a HGV driving job, but it is a local delivery driving job, Well, I say local. The company is local, but the delivering isn’t, but that’s fine. As long as I can get to work within 10 minutes then I’m well happy.

I actually applied for the driving role before I got my HGV license, but then forgot about it as I was informed that they weren’t recruiting any more drivers at the moment.

Then out of the blue in the middle of Feb I received a phone call asking if I wanted to come in for a chat and then within two weeks I was accepted for the role and I’ve just finished two weeks of my five weeks of training.

I won’t name the company I’m working for, but anyone who has been or is a delivery driver in the UK will probably know who it is, or will realise who it is most likely in future posts.

I’m still training. And whilst I’m training it’s difficult to fully evaluate the role as my wage is subsidised by the company. But from what other drivers who get on with the job have told me, it is a very good wage, you just have to be a hard worker and get on with it.

I’ve just completed two weeks of classroom training, learning about the company, it’s procedures and it’s future aims etc. Plus I had a few days out with a driver to watch how it’s all done, then I had 3 days out delivering some parcels myself.

It’s been a steep learning curve, but a good one and now I’m eager to get going on my own route so I can get to know the area’s and then quicken up my delivery times so I can deliver more and hopefully get paid more!

I’ve read some negative comments about the company online and from what I’ve experienced so far, a lot of it is from ex-drivers who don’t want to put the effort into the role.

Sure it’s hard work, but any delivery driving role will normally be a 10-12hr day, five days a week, sometimes a sixth or seventh day too, but the difference with this one is that you get paid very well for it.

They don’t expect the drivers to work seven days, but they do expect you to do some six day weeks, which is fine by me. I want a job that I can earn enough to pay off my debt. Once that’s done I’ll go from there.

Until that time, I want the work and I’m happy to work six 10-12hr days a week for it.

At the end of the day, there are a lot of people who work longer hours and for less pay than I should be getting. I say should, because I don’t know I can definitely earn what I want yet, I might be shit at my job and have to find another one pmsl.

Enough of that, lets see how my first week out on my own route goes next week!

The last month has been great sleep and health wise. It’s amazing how great I feel energy wise and mentally too.

Getting regular 6+ hrs of sleep, during the night, in one stint has enabled me to start feeling healthy again. I’ve been eating proper meals, not snacking on crap and overall I can feel my body and mind thanking me for it every day now.

I’ve not got back into a regular fitness routine yet, but I’ve made sure to keep pretty active and do something bodyweight wise every day.

Yesterday was the first time this year that I’ve touched a weight. And I just did a simple lightweight ten rep set of 50kg squats, along with some chin ups and some push ups and I felt great doing it.

I’m going to gradually increase what I do weight wise whilst I’m learning my new delivery route over the next 3 weeks and by then I should be back to some decent weights and workouts and really start to feel like my old self again.

If only I’d changed jobs sooner!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

