Life seems more difficult when you choose your own path.

So the job search is still ongoing. Which is a good thing, there are jobs for me to apply for. But I’m stuck between choosing a job I actually want.

Only a handful of times in my life have I taken a job that I didn’t want.

Generally I’ve found jobs that I could see myself in for years on end, but often I’ve left for one reason or another.

I’ve tried to run my own business a few times. Each time I’ve closed the business down. I could call it failing, but each time it’s been for reasons that I’ve chosen myself, not for outside reasons.

I would love to run my own business, or even be self-employed again, but all the business I want to do require start-up money, which I don’t have.

And that’s been the issue with the businesses I’ve started in the past, I’ve not had enough money to do the things I wanted to. Plus, ultimately I’ve not had the desire to go and find solutions to the lack of money.

So the businesses were closed, and I moved on and back to being employed by someone else.

But I’ve always chosen who and where I’ve gone to work. I’ve had options of higher-paying jobs, too many times to count, but I’ve generally gone for the job that means I can lead the lifestyle I’ve wanted to outside of work.

The things I usually enjoy the most don’t require a lot of money, they just require my time, being at home or at least not at work.

Until recently I’ve not known how much power that has given me throughout my life.

Which brings me to something I read this morning on Medium.

It was a post called ‘When you’re feeling lost…..do this

James Altucher is someone who’s writing I’ve been reading for a while now and most of his writings make me ponder my own life and journey I’m on, which I really enjoy.

One thing that stuck out for me reading this today was the following paragraph.

Always choose who you deal with. Who you give power to. This is the way of reclaiming power over your own life.

It wasn’t until I read this that I realised that this is what I do and then I started thinking about how differently my life would be if this wasn’t the case.

Then I stopped thinking about that, it wasn’t a pleasant few minutes, ha!

Anyway, long story short. I’m going to continue being picky about what job I end up in next.

It will be driving, that’s a given.

But it will be for a company that I want to work for, not just one that provides a monthly wage to pay the bills. I just can’t be too picky as I’ve still got those bills to pay at the end of the month haha!

Until next time,

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

