Doing some form of exercise every day and IIFYM.

This is my new year’s resolution for 2017.

Doing some form of exercise, every, single, day. And If It Fits My Macros it’s going in my face hole.

At least until I get my fitness levels back to a decent level (for me) and my body fat (waist size) down to where I want it.

I’ve decided to take some measurements for the first time in a while, after all, if I don’t know where I’m starting from, I don’t know how far I’ve got to go.

Or something motivational along those lines 😎.

Anyhoo, here’s where I’m at today…

Weight: 75kg

Waist: 36 inches

Chest: 41 inches

So there it is, I officially have the fattest gut I’ve ever had. Strangely enough, I’ve got my 2nd largest chest measurement I’ve ever had and yet I’m not the heaviest I’ve ever been.

Anyone would think fat takes up more space than muscle! 😉

I’ve stuck with just my stomach and chest measurements only as they’re the stats that tell me where I’m at the best.

I’ve taken my scale weight just for reference purposes, I don’t actually care what I weigh, and it doesn’t matter to me, it’s my measurements that do matter.

This is especially important when you’re weight training. I’ve noticed a lot of people who are trying for fat loss tend to focus on scale weight.

It works, to begin with, as the body loses water weight and some fat pretty quickly. But then that levels off, and if you’re doing some form of muscle building exercise, then the muscle gain starts to even out the water/fat loss. Then these people get demotivated that their diet isn’t working and quit.

I think I’m going to weigh myself and take some measurements every 2 weeks, to begin with, then just stick to the measurements and only weigh myself once a month after the first month.

So this week I literally just did one round of 5 x chin ups, 10 x pushups and 15 x squats per day, every work day.

Today is my day off, and I’m doing a 30 min walk on the treadmill with my 18kg weights vest on as well as the one round of bodyweight exercises.

Holy shit was I sweating by the end of the walk. Talk about fitness level drop! Only 2/3 months ago I was doing short distance sprints (30-60 secs)  on the treadmill with it on, and not sweating as much as I did

Only 2/3 months ago I was doing short distance sprints (30-45 secs) on the treadmill with it on, and not sweating as much as I did today 😥.

I’ve deliberately stuck to something basic every day, just so that I start off with some easy wins for my first week exercising and being back at work.

This week wasn’t too bad with the early 3 am starts, getting up wasn’t the issue in fact. What the issue was, was the getting to sleep.

I was a good boy and stuck to my new sleep schedule. Every night I went to bed (about 8:30 pm) a good 30-45 mins before I needed to be asleep. But every, single, fucking, night, I was awake for at least an hour, lying there feeling relaxed and not thinking about anything, but yet I didn’t get to sleep that quickly.

It’s not surprising really. Seeing as though I’ve spent the best part of 2 weeks not going to bed that early. I just would’ve thought with being up that early, getting less sleep, being on my feet for half the work day, doing the exercise, that this would’ve tired me out enough to get to sleep quickly, just like before Christmas.

Hey ho, I’m sure I’ll be back to normal soon enough. Although getting the 1.5hrs+ sleep during the day does mean I’m at least getting 6hrs every 24hrs, but the afternoon sleeping makes me feel thick headed, and it takes several hours for it to wear off.

Although getting the 1.5hrs+ sleep during the day means I’m at least getting 6hrs every 24hrs, which is good. But the afternoon sleeping makes me feel thick headed, and it takes several hours for it to wear off.

I’m trying to stick to 90 minutes sleep segments, but it’s difficult when I set the alarm for 2hrs, which should allow me 30 mins to get to sleep, but I take 60 mins and then only get 60 mins sleep because the alarm wakes me up.

I’m not too bothered, to be honest. I’ve got less than a month left of this job, and I will then hopefully be in a more civilised one. Well, that’s assuming I can find one during January.

I didn’t really set myself a realistic goal of finding a new job with the holiday break last month. Most job advertisements died off for about 3 weeks, and are only just now coming back. But I’m optimistic something suitable will come up, even if it just gets me out of the early starts of this job, I’ll be getting better sleep and be in a better place mentally to look for another more suitable job.

Right, one last thing I wanted to write down was about my eating.

After spending the last few months not eating properly, not cycling to work or for fun, and also not consistently doing any weight lifting, it’s not a surprise my body has gone to shit.

So I’ve decided to go for IIFYM. Which for anyone reading this that doesn’t know what it means, it’s “if it fits your macros”.

I don’t like putting terms or names on what I do eating or exercise wise. I just eat and exercise, it’s no more difficult than that.

But I want to log and write about things more this time round, so I thought I’d give things some official names to make me sound cool. 😎

So I’ve done IIFYM in the past. Basically most of the last 15+ years actually. I don’t generally care what I eat, as long as I like it, as long as I feel good, I continue eating it.

Sometimes I’ve decided that I ‘should’ eat more vegetables, or ‘should’ eat a particular food less. But then I’ve become unhappy which spirals into not eating properly at all and not exercising at all.

So that’s not happening again, ever.

Plus, IIFYM is ideal for me wanting to lose a few inches off my stomach and do nothing else with my health, etc.

I don’t want to add any extra muscle mass, I don’t want to be any healthier, I only want to lose the excess belly fat, so IIFYM is perfect for that.

It’s simple to do and means I don’t have to change anything eating wise. I’m just going to keep track of things via My Fitness Pal, and that’s it.

Once I’ve lost my excess belly fat, or at least got it down to 33/34 inches again, I’ll probably stop IIFYM most likely. Maybe I won’t, we’ll see how I feel at the time.

Right, so I’ve worked out my calorie intake for each day, and I’m using that as a baseline level to build my eating back up to. Then once I’m consistently eating that in real food every day and also exercising every day, I’ll then change it accordingly to match my activity levels.

I honestly think the only thing I’m going to struggle with is eating proper portion sized meals for dinner.

Except for Christmas dinner, a farewell dinner for my partner’s in-laws and a pre-Christmas works dinner, I literally didn’t eat a decent sized meal for probably 3 months.

Instead, I spent the afternoons and evenings snacking on shit foods in smaller portions, and therefore I feel like I’ve shrunk my stomach and I just can’t eat big meals now.

It’s kind of a good thing actually because now that I want to lose some belly fat and have a lower calorie intake, my meals need to be slightly smaller.

I just need to make sure I don’t keep any shit food in the house, and then I won’t be tempted to eat any.

And that’s been my bane for months now. Having the shit food in the house. I’m good at not popping to the shops, or via the shops or even getting something shitty while out and about. But if I’ve got shit food at home, that’s it, I get all psychic and start hearing voices in my head from the food telling me to eat it! 😜

Ok, that’s enough of that today, I’m hungry, and it’s time for brunch.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

