Creating a sleep schedule.

So I got a little anal last night and spent a few hours in the evening putting together a 7-day schedule for my sleep. Well, the schedule includes my work days too, but it was mainly so that I could plan my sleep pattern and try to ensure I get around 56hrs a week of sleep through 90-minute sleep cycles.

Once I started planning the schedule I quickly realised that I wouldn’t be able to get 8hrs every ‘night’ but instead I could get 8hrs every ’24hrs’.

To explain a little here are my hours of sleep I’ve planned for myself based on each 24hr period.

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
9hrs 8hrs 8hrs 8hrs 6hrs 8.5hrs 8.5hrs

It was actually pretty cool to actually see how, with a little planning, I could actually get around 8hrs sleep every day, or should I say every 24hr period.

No matter what I’ve done over the last 12 months, I’ve just not been able to get more than 6hrs straight sleep on a work day/night, and what has done me in is not getting any more sleep during the day on those same work days/nights. Especially when my sleep time has dropped as low as 4hrs on some nights.

In this new schedule, by adding in a sleep period during the day time on a work night that I start at 2am, I have managed to schedule in enough sleep that I actually get around 8hrs sleep each 24hr period, which is great!

As an example: On Sunday I’m in bed for 9pm and I’m up at 2am on Monday and have had 5hrs sleep. Then I’m back to bed for more sleep on Monday at 1pm and up again at 4pm and have had 3hrs sleep. Which then means by the time I go back to bed again on Monday night at 9pm I’ve had 8hrs sleep during the last 24hr period of being awake.

Tada.

I’m going to try and stick with 90-minute sleep cycles as all the sleep literature I’ve read say that most people sleep in 90 min cycles, so that’s good enough for me. 

My actually in bed time is normally 15-30 minutes before I start counting my sleep, so as to allow my brain and body time to relax and get ready for sleep.

Once thing that can, and most probably will put a spanner in the works, will be when the delivery schedule for my work changes, which it has a tendency to do quite often.

This will mean that I won’t have to get up at 2am some days, and will have to work later than say 11am, meaning I also won’t be home to get 3hrs sleep at the same time every day.

And this is one of the main reasons I’m leaving this job in a few months, because I just can’t get a regular work day schedule which in turn means I can’t have a regular sleep schedule.

Anyway, I began this new schedule yesterday and we’ll see how it goes. I do know for definite that this coming Thursday I won’t be getting any day time sleep, as I’ll be travelling up to Manchester for the football haha! 

Until next time… 

WeeMike 

Leave a Reply

