Widowmaker squats, sausages and chips

I think I’ve done more exercise in the last few weeks than I have for the several months before, and if not then it feels like it, but either way I’m starting to feel the rewards on a daily basis again.

I didn’t set out to do something every day, because I wanted to do a workout every other day. But I forgot how tired I felt the days after a full workout, what with the lack of sleep and getting up early every night during the week.

It seems by splitting up the exercises into 3-5 movements a day and only doing the main lifts as and when I feel fully recovered that I am able to be more consistent.

I think with this weeks plans I should at least have covered all main lifts 1-2 times in the last 2 weeks, plus done each of the accessory exercises 2-3 times.

I could of course simply reduce the weight on the main lifts right down and just stick with them, but I’ve done that in the past and never enjoyed it. I enjoy doing something more regularly and more varied.

Hey ho, this way of working out is working for me right now so I’m going with it whilst it lasts.

This is what I did today:

Barbell Widowmaker Squat: 20 x 75kg – although these were only 1kg over bodyweight, a few weeks ago they really puffed me out, today not so, my legs were burning slightly by the end, but I definitely think my conditioning has come up a level these last few weeks.

Barbell Goodmorning: 10 x 27.5kg, 10 x 32.5kg, 10 x 37.5kg – not done these for months, since my neck injury actually. Was pretty reluctant to do them, but I now how good they are and as long as I don’t get stupid and add silly weights on before my body is ready then I’ll be good.

Dumbbell Shrug: 15 x 20kg, 15 x 22.5kg, 15 x 25kg

Rear Delt Cable Row – Face Pull: 10 x 10kg, 10 x 12.5kg, 10 x 15kg

After that I chucked down some lovely sausages and chips, couldn’t be arsed with anything else, mmmmm I loves sausages so much. Proper one’s though, got to be over 90% pork otherwise they’re not worth bothering with. Jolly Hog are my favourite brand at the moment, proper bangers that don’t shrivel or shed loads of fat when cooking!

Anyhoo, I’m on an early tomorrow, but it’s a not so early as normal, only up at 3:30am instead of 2:30am lol, so I think I’ll try for some overhead pressing as I loves that!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

