Proper Sleep Makes All the Difference and 1,250 Chin Ups is a Distant Memory

So here we are the last day of my work week and I’ve only been up at 3am once this week. The difference on my whole being is amazing.

Apart from my Christmas break last year, I haven’t had more than 2 straight days off over 7hrs sleep, until this week. So around 9 months and during that time I had forgotten how it felt to feel normal during the day time both energy wise and having a clear head to think properly.

Until you are consistently tired day in day out like I have been for the last 9 months, you really don’t understand how cloudy your thoughts become.

Only this morning having had my 3rd night in a row of 7hr+ sleep did I really think about how long it’s been. And the great thing is I’ve got another 3 straight nights of 7hr+ sleep too!

Which is why I’ve made sure to get in some workouts this week, to make the most of it.

Yesterday was my 2nd decent workout and I’ve got another one planned for Friday and then hopefully Sunday, making 4 in total for the week for the first time in months.

So yesterday I did the following:

Rear Dumbbell Row: 5kg x 10, 6kg x 10, 7kg x 10

Upright Barbell Row: 30kg x 10, 32.5kg x 10, 35kg x 10

Bodyweight Chin Ups: 6, 6, 6

Bentover Barbell Rows: 46.5kg x 8, 49kg x 8, 51.5kg x 8

Seated Cable Row: 20kg x 10, 25kg x 10, 30kg x 10.

No major lifts or movements, as I decided just to do some accessory movements and save the main exercises for Friday and Sunday. Well except for the chin ups, I guess they’re a main movement.

I can’t believe how unconditioned I’ve become doing chin ups. I’ve never been a master at them in that I’ve never been able to do more than 10-12 for a single set and then I tail off 10, 8 etc but I’ve always normally been able to bang out sets of 6 set after set.

My record from a few years ago when I entered a competition was 1,250 chin ups in one day. I literally had a timer and was pumping out sets of 6 reps every 15/20 minutes through out the day, even during work on the farm. I’d done them on polytunnel piping, tree branches, forklift truck arms, basically anywhere I could do a chin up, I did one.

It was a week long competition and I managed 7,000 reps for the week which got me 1st place amongst I think 50 odd people. And I’m still pretty chuffed with that to this day.

But now. Meh, fucking lack of sleep pmsl. I was really puffing after the 3rd set of 6 reps and my arms were shot.

Hey ho, it is what it is, I’ll be back strong and conditioned soon enough. But for now that’s the fitness talk over.

A nice short 6hr day at work hopefully and then I’m whizzing home on the bike to play the new Fifa 17, ooooooooh I feel like a fat kid in a donut shop!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

