The best advice I’ve ever received is — Don’t pick a job. Instead, pick an industry to work in.

When I left my home town 10 years ago, I said to my partner that I didn’t want to chase any particular kind of job anymore, instead I wanted to work in an industry, or specifically, industries.

Those industries were food, shelter, clothing and with animals.

I can’t remember where I read it now, but at the beginning of 2006 I read an article saying that you shouldn’t choose a job, but an industry to work in.

And so I thought about what kind of industries I wanted to work in and came up with those four.

I’ve never had one job for longer than 2-3 years, until I worked on a fruit farm that is. Not because I’ve been no good at them or hated the company I worked for, but because I didn’t work in an industry I was happy with.

I also never wanted to chase a job just for the money, regardless of what I could’ve done with that money, I always chose a job that I would at least be happy in, even if the money was low.

Until I really thought about the industries I wanted to work in though, I just kept drifting from job to job, looking for something that really made me happy, instead of just happy enough.

It wasn’t until I came back from back packing around New Zealand that I first started getting an interest in being more active in a job. And then one thing led to another and I came across the article about choosing an industry instead of a specific job.

And out those four industries I’ve found that food is one that I enjoy the most. Well, saying that I haven’t really had the opportunity to work in/with housing or animals, but I’m pretty sure I could work in the food industry for the rest of my life going on what I’ve experienced so far.

There’s just something I enjoy about being active so much during the day and working outdoors.

In fact it possibly doesn’t have to be in the food industry but could be in landscaping or something similar like estate management etc, but I’ve not been able to find a route into either of those with no previous experience.

I found a way into the food industry by volunteering for 6 months and an opportunity cropped up that I grabbed with both hands.

But I really do enjoy growing food, maintaining it, harvesting it and just all the tasks that go with it.

But, and this is a mahoosive BUT, I can’t continue working in the food industry in a position I really enjoy the most because of the lack of pay.

Which is the main reason I left working on the fruit farm in Somerset to come back to my home town and work in a job that paid a higher wage, but wasn’t what I wanted to do specifically with food.

Thankfully I’m still in the food industry, but I’m not growing the food and can’t see a way for me to ever get back to it unfortunately.

At this point in my life I’m leaning towards driving as a full time job, still in the food industry, but I don’t think I’ll ever find a way of getting back to growing food as a full time job, at least not in the short term anyway.

I’ve been trying to motivate myself to start growing some food at home again, like I did when we lived on the farm for 2-3 years, but it’s a long process to get there as I want to make all the pots/raised beds etc myself from old materials and finding the energy on my days off with my current job is proving a massive challenge.

I said to myself when I first started my current job, that I’d give it a full 12 months to get me back up to my home town, get me some job experience in the area and then see where I was at with the job and where my motivation lay.

Suffice to say that I’m not being motivated to stay in my current job much past the 12 month period, which amazingly is only 5 months away now. This last 7 months really has flown by!

But one thing that is for sure is that there is no way I can do night work, long term. I can manage and am managing with it at the moment, mainly because I know it isn’t long term. But I am having to make sacrifices that I’m not being rewarded for and can’t see any future reward for either.

The only positive thing to come out of my current position is that I am at least getting more driving experience that I can use for my next job, wherever that may be.

Who ever I end up working for next, I certainly know that it won’t be working nights again, unless it’s for a good deal more money and doesn’t require me to work during the day too!

It’s funny the thoughts that run through my mind when I’m tired and should be asleep or at least in bed trying to sleep lol.

Tonight after getting over 8hrs sleep last night, I’m not tired at all, which isn’t surprising considering the amount of sugar I’ve eating on my junk food day today, but I just don’t feel like going to bed seeing as though I’ve got the next three days of due to the bank holiday, which I’m going to try and make the most of by at least doing something each day in the garden and with my fitness routine.

Which has really stalled since injuring myself two weeks ago. I should’ve done three workouts so far this week seeing as though my neck is all good again, but I only managed the one on Wednesday and couldn’t be arsed to do one today even though I’ve done fuck all except paint the garden gate pmsl.

I have at least gone over my training routine and tweaked it to remove a few movements that don’t really help me build my upper back and share my muscle gain between each side of my body equally. And it’s looking pretty balanced now and I’m looking forward to getting going again lifting some weights.

This week I can kind of go easy on myself considering I was delivering four straight days getting up at 2am, but I still had plenty of time to go exercise but chose not to.

Hey ho, I won’t beat myself up about it, I’ve at least done one workout this week and I’ve still got two days of the week left to at least do another one, so I’ll be 2/3rds of the way there, that’s good enough for this week!

Getting back to the job thing. I wonder how many other people go through life not picking a particular industry to work in and just drift from job to job and industry to industry not really paying any attention to what they enjoy the most?

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

