I might be slightly OCD when lifting weights.

I’ve never been a particularly messy person, nor am I a particularly tidy person. I’m kind of in between the two.

But I do think that I might be slightly OCD, although only when I’m lifting weights!

Messy WeightsTidy Weights

Looking at the pictures above the one on the left is when I’m almost finished my workout and the one on the right is when I have finished and put the weights away.

When I get towards the end of my workouts and the room looks like the one on the left, I start to get a strange urge to put the weights away, which is stupid as I need to use most of them during each exercise.

But the most weirdest thing is during the workout when I’ve finished with a certain weight I put it on the floor and then lay the same paired weight on the opposite side of my weights rack so that it’s almost symmetrical to the other one.

I’ve only just noticed myself doing this. I’ll finish a set of something, take some weights off, put some others on, then whilst waiting for my rest period to be up, I’ll rearrange the weights so that they are symmetrical.

And if I don’t my eye’s just keeping catching the weights in odd places and I get a real urge to move them to a symmetrical place.

Fucking weird.

When I’ve finished my workout and I put all the weights back where they came from, I then have to make sure that they are all symmetrical again.

I tried to just leave them where they were, but I just had to put them away in a symmetrical way!

Hey ho, it looks tidy I guess lol.

Anyway, today was squats and overhead press day, I’ve left the weights the same as the last workout and will do for another few, but I’ll try and get an extra rep here and there.

Exercise Reps Weight in KG’s
Barbell Squat 5,5,5,5 78.5,117.5,107.5,97.5
Barbell Glute Bridge 10,10,10 114.5,104.5,99.5
Overhead Press 6,6,6,6 37.5,55,52.5,50
Barbell Rear Delt Row 8,8,8 46.5,44,41.5
Dumbbell Side Raise 10,10,10 10,9,8

I actually decreased the glute bridge weights just slightly as I felt a little unstable on the first set, and I also took 1kg off of each set of the side raises as my shoulders felt whacked from the other shoulder movements.

After spending a fair few hours reading during the day today on a subject I don’t know a lot about my mind actually feels tired this evening, I think I might be able to get to sleep before 10pm for once.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

