When in doubt, just fucking squat.

Squat Rack

Well, yesterday didn’t got as planned, I felt too whacked from Saturdays deadlifts and so left the workout until today. The weight’s I’m doing are getting heavy now and my body will take a few weeks to get used to the heavier weights, so I need to make sure I get enough rest between workouts and enough sleep too!

It’s no biggy having an extra days rest, I felt like I needed it as my back muscles were still aching yesterday afternoon and so I thought I’d take an extra days rest rather than do a workout back to back with no rest in between.

It turned out a good decision as I woke up at 4am this morning to go delivery driving still aching, in fact even more so I think lol. I’ve definitely reached a level of heaviness with the weights that they are starting to really do some work on my body.

Anyway, I got home after work this afternoon and really didn’t feel like working out, I felt quite hungry and tired for some reason. I think the inconsistent early starts aren’t as easy to get used to as getting up early every day, well that’s what I’m telling myself.

I probably also felt this way as my body is using all available food for recovery and growth and it’s just going to take a few weeks to get used to.

I drank a load of sugar via my blackcurrant squash and within 30 minutes I felt a little better and just thought I’d go for it.

Here’s what I did today:

Exercise Reps Weight in KG’s
Barbell Squat 5,5,5,5 78.5,117.5,107.5,97.5
Barbell Glute Bridge 10,10,10 104,109,114
Overhead Press 6,6,6,8 37.5,55,52.5,50
Barbell Rear Delt Row 8,8,8 46.5,44,41.5
Dumbbell Side Raise 10,10,10 11,10,9

Holy shit the squats were tough. I decided to do the heaviest set straight after the warm up set and loaded i[ 2.5kg too much without realising it.

I really had to push hard for the final rep and once I’d re-racked the weight I was so fucked that I looked at the weight and then realised I’d put the wrong weight on.

It’s not a weight I haven’t squatted before, but I have a level that I’m working towards after so much time off, and I think that technically skipping a workout and lifting a weight before my body was ready is the reason I’m so whacked.

Anyway, to top it off I then did the same thing on the overhead presses, although this time I didn’t get the heaviest set wrong lol.

Hey ho, the workouts done and I’m seriously whacked now. I think an early night is in order, especially seeing as though I’ve got a normal start tomorrow, more sleep is the answer!

My eating this last week has been below where it needs to be, but better than the week before, so I’m getting there slowly, yet again though I went a bit too low on the day after what I call my refeed day, or junk day normally.

Calories 2

I like to over indulge once a week on some sweets an stuff, but it seems the next day I’m not so hungry. So I need to find some easy to eat foods to make sure I’m not too low on calories again this week. Although it should be a little easier this week as I have a workout the day after junk day and I’m usually hungrier on workout days, so we’ll see.

I didn’t take any stats yesterday as I realised it was only a week since I last did. I normally take stats every few weeks when on a routine like this as week to week changes can be too variable.

I definitely feel this last week has seen me get closer still to my fitness and strength levels of last year, I’m feeling stronger and firmer in the muscles than even just a few weeks ago, so the hard work is starting to pay off, just another 36 workouts to go!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

