Voodoo Squats and Barbell Overhead Press

Prodigy Voodoo People

Damn I forgot how much I love listening to the Prodigy. Voodoo People is one of my favourite songs, it’s an oldie but a goody. I was feeling a little lethargic again from working on the poota most of the day at work, but once I put that song on, I was ready to go within a few minutes.

Yesterdays workout was as follows:

Exercise Reps Weight in KG
Barbell Squat 5,5,5,5 78.5, 112.5, 102.5, 92.5
Barbell Glute Bridge 10,10,10 101.5, 106.5, 111.5
Overhead Press 6,6,6,8 37.5, 52.5, 47.5, 42.5
Barbell Rear Delt Row 6,6,6 46.5, 44, 41.5
Dumbbell Side Raise 10,10,12 10, 9, 7.5

I moved the sets around on the squats and overhead press yesterday and after the first set which is technically a warm up set, I went straight to the heaviest weight instead of working my way up to the heaviest set.

It felt better doing it that way, I had more strength for the heaviest weights and plenty left in the tank for the other sets. Unlike leaving the heaviest set until last and barely getting the last rep sometimes.

I’ve done it like this in the past, but I think I’ll stick to this for a while and see how I feel.

I’m keeping this post short today as I’m writing this with a banger of a headache, which is annoying more than anything, maybe spent too much time starting at the poota screen at work today.

Right when I need to be in a good mood too as it’s mine and my partner’s 18th anniversary today and it’s her turn to cook a nice meal, a few painkillers are in order I think.

I struggled to get my calories yesterday as had a home made chili mince beef and it was WAY too hot for me and I just couldn’t eat it, I put too much chili in pmsl, which was stupid of me.

I really struggle with anything spicy and I just couldn’t eat more than a few mouthfuls, so I ate a few protein bars and a packet of rolo’s to get my macro’s for the day, it wasn’t ideal but it’ll be fine for one day, it’s all about being flexible after all.

Anyhoo, that’s me done.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

