Barbell Squats and Barbell Overhead Presses.

So I’m getting on with working out my new workout routine and in the mean time I’m finding that my strength is coming back to levels it was at last year much quicker than I thought it would.

I’m probably at about 80% of my strength levels back in the summer of last year and one movement that I can feel it in the most is the barbell squat.

Here’s my workout this evening:

Barbell Squat: 5 x 78.5kg, 5 x 90kg, 5 x 100kg, 5 x 110kg

Barbell Overhead Press: 6 x 36kg, 6 x 41kg, 6 x 46kg, 6 x 51kg

Barbell Glute Bridge: 9 x 101.5kg, 9 x 106.5kg, 9 x 111kg

Barbell Rear Delt Row: 9 x 40kg, 9 x 42.5kg, 9 x 45kg

Dumbbell Lateral Raise: 9 x 7.5kg, 9 x 9kg, 8 x 10kg

Barbell squats have always been a love hate thing with me. I love the feeling after doing them, knowing that I’ve shifted a load of weight, but I hate the actual doing of them sometimes.

When I first started squatting again 5/6 weeks ago, I felt so unstable and weak doing them. But now I feel really strong doing them again, and ready to kick on and start getting closer and beating my max of 134kg which goes way back to early 2014.

I’ve not really focused my 1 rep maxes on any movement since 2014, not for any particular reason, I just found trying to build up to a 1 rep max really whacked me, or I just couldn’t nail the preparation and consistency to build up to it properly.

So when I went really heavy I never went below 2 or 3 reps, which I’m probably going to stick with in the new routine I’m working on, but I might try some maxes during the summer months if this 3 month stint goes well.

One thing I am going to do is put in some short 10 minute spells of high intensity interval running on the treadmill twice a week/ Once I start next week on my new routine I’m going to wait for the first two weeks to allow my body to get used to the new weight routine then do one run the following week, then two and see how my body copes with it.

The only thing I’m wary of planning my new routine is how tired I’m going to when I have to get up early at 3/4am to do some delivery driving, but ultimately I’m just going to have to cross that bridge when I get to it and simply not worry about it until then.

Until next time…

WeeMike

 

Leave a Reply

