My view on long term health and fitness: K. I. S. S. But what does that mean?

Sometimes I get asked what’s your secret to always being healthy and fit?

My answer?

Firstly I’m not ‘always’ healthy and fit.

Sure I’ve not been to a doctor in 10 years, I’m 39 and the healthiest and strongest I’ve ever been.

But I’m still only healthy and fit 80% of the time, the other 20% I’m too busy stuffing my face with chocolate, drinking rum and riding my girlfriend like the magical unicorn she is.

Ahem, sorry about that, I’ve been watching Deadpool clips all day.

My REAL answer to how come I’m always healthy and fit is…

Keep it simple.

Most times I get a roll of the eyes, or a “yeah ok”. To which I simply say “well, if you didn’t want to know!”.

It really is the simple things. The little things. If you do them often enough. And then do them again and again, and yet again.

Then do them again and again and again.

Do you get where I’m going with this?

It really is the simple things that make up the bigger things like losing 50lbs of body fat, or gaining 25lbs of muscle, when it comes to health & fitness.

But it’s often the simple things that people turn their back on, because they really are, simple.

I’ll list what those little things have been for me.

Before I do, I want to highlight what I’ve just said: the simple things for ‘me’. These simple things are what have worked for ME.

I want to cover my arse here, because the internet an all it’s ass hats will come and throw unicorn shit at me if I don’t.

unicorn

I want to state clearly that they might not work for you, however, everything I’ve read and everything I’ve experienced over the last 18 years or so, tells me that they probably will work for you. If you want them to.

So, my first simple thing is:

Why.

Why do you want to get healthy, or fit?

If it’s to impress a girl/boy, then OK cool.

If it’s for an occasion like a wedding/holiday, then OK cool.

If it’s because your family has a history of illness, then OK cool.

If it’s because you want to do it to lose body fat or gain muscle, then again OK cool.

If it is just because, then OK, that’s cool too.

Whatever it is though, you MUST have a why.

Your why doesn’t need to be deep and meaningful, but trust me when I say “it helps!”. Having a why that is something you can’t stop thinking about will make a big difference.

If it’s something fleeting, like I want a six pack because I think men only look healthy with six packs. Or I want to be a size 6, because that’s what all the women around me say that’s what I should be, then when things get hard, or don’t go the way you want them to, you’ll probably give up and go off crying in to the sunset, whilst eating a box of krispy kreme donuts, a top a magical rainbow spun….. ahem, sorry, I love Deadpool too much, he’s a guy close to my heart!

So, I personally think your why has to keep you going in the deepest, darkest moments.

When it’s cold and raining outside, your why needs to get you outside to the gym, or for that run.

When your friends and family stop praising you for starting something new and start critising you for still going, your why needs to keep you going.

When you don’t lose 50lbs of body fat in 6 months, or gain 25lbs of muscle in 12 months, your why needs to keep you going.

When everyone around you is unfit and unhealthy and you start thinking about giving up, your why needs to keep you going.

For me personally, and I’ve never mentioned this on my blog before. My why is that my father died of a heart attack at the age of 44 (or 41, I can’t remember now) this was after already having triple bypass surgery.

I don’t know much about his life, but what I do know, he wasn’t a particularly healthy guy. The few pictures I’ve seen of him (I never knew him, he died when I was young) he was overweight and liked a drink, so this could have been a cause of his heart attacks.

I realised around the age of 21 that if I was going to try and live beyond his age, that I probably needed to start looking after myself. And so my health & fitness journey began, which I won’t go into in detail, but I’ve already written about it here, if you want to read it.

So, perhaps I had a big why and perhaps this is why I’ve always been able to get myself back on track when I’ve gone off the rails. But I’ve known plenty of people who could have bigger why’s than me, but choose to allow it to consume them and keep them down.

Either way, I’ve always used several methods to keep me on track and my why is just the first one.

My second thing is, being more active.

Does that sound obvious? Boring? Simple?

That’s because it is all of those.

Being more active is probably the single most obvious thing you can do to become more healthier and fitter.

It’s probably going to be one of the most boring of things at some point in your life, but you’ll still need to be active to continue being healthy and fit (once you’ve got there), trust me on this one, it’s not all easy going and fun, it will get boring at times.

And yet it is one of the most simplest things you can do to become and stay healthy and fit.

Walking. Hiking. Cycling. Crossfit. Wrestling. Roller Skating. Kung-Fu. Boxing. House Renovator, Artificially Inseminating Unicorn’s etc.

You get where I’m coming from. It doesn’t have to be like all fitness magazines say.

Go to a hot, sweaty gym, lift weights that you have no idea how to.

Go sit on an exercise bike, or a treadmill in same said hot and sweaty gym and cycling or running aimlessly until your heart comes out of your chest and you throw up.

Being active doesn’t have to mean going to the gym.

Sure I have a weights rack and treadmill at home, but that’s because this it what I have found that I stick to, that I enjoy the most.

Being active can mean literally ANYTHING that keeps you active and I’ll go as far as saying that even my favourite cartoon character Quagmire has it bang on.

Those shirt’s. That chin. Giggity giggity goo!

Quagmire

Think back before our ancestors come off farming the land and we were WAY more active and healthy, so for me it’s a no brainer that if we get back to something similar to them we’ll be on the right path health and fitness wise.

And yes I do think more people should try farming their own food, too many people think bullshit like potatoes come from a unicorn, or a sausage or steak grows on a fucking tree.

Ahem, sorry about that….

Don’t get lost in today’s fads, the latest pill or potion or what your friend said she heard her friends mother’s auntie did to lose 10lbs in 2 hours.

The basics work, every, single, time.

K.I.S.S.

Keep It Simple Stupid.

Yeah, I don’t like stupid acronyms either.

Find something that keeps you active for an hour or more a day if it’s light work, or 20 minutes if it’s intense, and do it, every, single, day.

Then start eating 75-80% wholefoods, every, single, day.

I won’t got into detail on the foods as its a massive subject, but start with wholefoods and make sure you include a source of protein, carbs and fat in each meal, and you won’t go far wrong.

If you want to know a bit more about what particular foods to eat, try any one of the blogs on my blog roll to the right of this post, any one of the blogs should have something about good whole foods.

Once you starting feeling the benefits of being more active and eating better you might want to go a step further and start reading about how to lift weights, or run marathons, or climb mountains, or artificially inseminating unicorns etc.

Either way, just start with the basics, keep it simple and you won’t go wrong.

Right, I’m off for some chocolate, a shot of rum, then I’m going to lift some weights and I might stick on the deadpool movie after that, and then I might finish it off with some more activity…

Deadpool

Giggity.

Until next time…

WeeMike

 

2 thoughts on “My view on long term health and fitness: K. I. S. S. But what does that mean?

  1. skatergrrrl 04/03/2016 / 3:04 pm

    I take it you’ve seen Deadpool by now then? I can’t get to the cinema until Sunday because my OH was drowning in man flu last week and we have a wedding to attend tomorrow.
    You sound like you’ve got a lot of perspective on what happened to your dad. Your reasons for pursuing are very similar to mine – I want to outlive my parents, who both died last year, aged 53 and 54, one of breast cancer and the other of “unknown causes,” within 4 months of each other. I’ve always wanted to be healthy and self-sufficient, but that’s really made me try to kick it up a gear. They both hit 30 and pretty much gave up on life, not sure they were very engaged with it to start with (they were separated since 1990). I want to live to see 100, and I still want to be able to wipe my own arse when I get there. Which is why I have too many goals!
    I like how you’ve cut through all the crap to try and explain how to actually get on with this fitness thing. 🙂 I think a lot of people are scared of getting it wrong because there’s so many people who go on about the dangers of X, Y and Z when it comes to fitness. I’m completely ignorant of how anything works beyond skating.
    And I grow my own spuds, but 2 years running I’ve been trying to get anything else at all to grow. Last year there was moderate success with some parsley and kale but the wildlife ate it haha.

    • WeeManMike 04/03/2016 / 7:25 pm

      Defo go see it when you can. I’ve never read the Deadpool comics, but think I might start now I’ve seen the movie! My humour levels are pretty dark and twisted so it resonates so much with me lol.

      I’ve experienced a lot on my health and fitness journey and had to cut a lot of shit out for myself and it’s amazing how the simple basic stuff seems to work the best for most people!

      That’s funny how you want to live to 100, as I always said when I was a kid that I wanted to live to 101. No idea why, but it’s stuck and that’s what I’m aiming for!

      Go for it with growing your own stuff, trial and error will get you there in the end, I’m aiming for some spuds and carrots this year, first time for a few years though!

Leave a Reply

