When something isn’t perfect, but that something is better than nothing.

Not perfect but awesome

The title of today’s entry sums up my current fitness routine.

The year didn’t start well when I realised I’d be doing 10-15hr days 5 days a week for the whole month.

No matter how much I tried I just didn’t have the energy to do any meaningful exercise other than cycling 2.2 miles to work at 3am and then back again at around 5pm.

It got slightly better as the month came to an end and my body had gotten used to the healthy eating and had started to recover properly from the Christmas excesses, on top of a few bodyweight workouts, it had started to give back in the form of me having more energy throughout the day, despite the long hours.

As February began I realised that I would be doing somewhat normal hours again and so I put together a new weight lifting routine and decided that once I had got about 6 weeks into it I would also start running again.

Seeing as though my new job has me standing up all day like the previous farm job, but I’m not lifting and moving heavy objects, I need something extra fitness wise and so I thought running could fill that hole.

Anyway, February has so far been a great month when compared to January. I’ve managed 6 weight lifting sessions so far, on top of two runs on the treadmill.

So, as it stands, it seems like my fitness is going well again and yet I’m not as happy as I should be.

I’m quite demanding of myself fitness wise, or I have been up until recently. And even though I’m doing better than I was 2 months ago, I’m still not entirely happy with it.

I should have done 9 weight lifting sessions if I’m being honest with myself, but I haven’t.

Instead of missing that weight lifting session once a week so far this month, I should have at the least replaced it with a running session, but I didn’t.

Until this week that is when I did two brief but intense runs on the treadmill. But still.

I should have also been eating way more than I have been. My calorie requirements that I worked out at the beginning of the year had me needing to eat 2500 calories a day. So far this month I’m averaging around 2000, which is piss poor.

I’ve got no excuse, I’ve got the food at home, no junk food in the house, but I’ve just chosen not to eat at all. In fact it’s difficult at times to eat, as I find myself not being hungry.

Which I think is due to the lack of activity in comparison to my old farm job on top of me not doing enough exercise outside of my job.

Years back when I realised I needed to eat more to gain muscle, I gradually increased the size of each of my meals by adding an extra bit of meat or carbs to each meal. Having milk in my protein shake instead of water etc.

So I’ve made a plan today to increase the size of each meal I have at the moment, which should see me hitting the 2500 calorie goal or at least getting very close to it each day.

Overall I’m obviously doing a lot better than I was at the beginning of the month and that’s what I’ve had to remind myself of today, despite me already knowing it from years of experience.

I realised years ago that long-term fitness isn’t about being perfect, it’s about doing something when you feel like doing nothing.

When I think of other people’s fitness ambitions over the years, I’ve seen people setting themselves up for failure from the beginning.

They set themselves all sorts of goals that are way off where they are now and within a month they’ve fallen way behind where they think they should be, become unmotivated and then deem that fitness goal unachievable and then come to a grinding stop.

As anyone reading this can see, the last 3 weeks haven’t turned out the way I had planned it, sure I’ve gotten disheartened along the way and I’ve fallen short of my goals for the month, but that doesn’t mean I’m giving up for next month.

Far from it in fact.

I’m going to try even harder in March, in fact I’ve still got another week of February to go yet, so my aim is to do 3 weight lifting sessions next week AND 2 short but intense runs on my treadmill.

Will I do all 5 exercise sessions? Fuck know’s (who is fuck?). But I’ll give it a go and that will be better than doing nothing and giving up because I’ve not reached my goals for this month!

Oh and before I go, here’s the basic weight lifting I did today, despite not wanting to:

Barbell Deadlift: 5 x 77.5kg, 5 x 97.5kg

Barbell Bentover Row: 8 x 46.5kg, 8 x 51.5kg

Incline Barbell Bench Press: 8 x 56.5kg, 8 x 61.5kg, 8 x 71.5kg

Dumbbell Flye: 8 x 10kg, 8 x 12.5kg

Dumbbell Shoulder Shrug: 25 x 12.5kg, 25 x 20kg

As you can see from the above workout, it was shorter than I normally do and yet it included enough of my normal workout to be a decent enough workout.

“It’s not about doing something perfectly, it’s about doing something rather than nothing”

Until next time…

WeeMike

p.s If you liked the quote in the picture at the top of this post, click on the image and you can go buy a framed version of it from the seller (^_^).

Leave a Reply

