H.I.I.T is more enjoyable than I remember and my job could be on the line.

Well yesterday was a shorter Sunday than normal at work, which was nice as I got home early and felt like having a bit of a run on my treadmill, and so I did.

I started off with a light jog and quickly got into my stride and felt good, so I decided that I do 2 full on sprints with a few minutes recuperation in between them.

The first one I whacked the treadmill up to 16kph and went for it, my little legs going really fast, but I felt good, 10 seconds, still feeling good, 25 seconds, uh oh, starting to flag, 30 seconds, right that’s enough of that.

Back down to a steady pace, which I stayed at for about 4 minutes, then thought to myself lets see what 18kph feels like. Holy shit, it was fast, my little legs were struggling to keep up, I was already panting my arse off and it was only 10 seconds in.

15 seconds took forever to come, and that was enough, I slowed it right down to a brisk walk. Holy shit I was panting!

But I loved it, I’d forgotten how much I enjoy H.I.I.T. I’ve not run like this for at least a few years.

When my partner and I lived in a caravan for a few years I used to regularly run short distances up to a mile, and at one point had my mile time down to 7 minutes, which I was pretty chuffed with.

Other than that I used to stick to a few hundred meters and do intervals of sprinting and jogging.

I think I’ll start doing this again on my non weight lifting days, will be interesting to see how long it lasts, but I won’t go to hard to begin with, seeing as though this is only the 2nd proper week of being back on the weight lifting 3 times a week and with my cycling to work and back and getting up at 4am, I don’t want to burn myself out!

Anyway, today was a lighter bodyweight/weights workout, which was:

Weighted Chin Ups: 8 x 1kg, 6 x 2kg, 6 x 3kg, 6 x 4kg.

Dumbbell Static Lunges: 12 x 5kg, 10 x 6kg, 8 x 7.5kg, 6 x 10kg

Standing Dumbbell Tricep Extension: 12 x 7.5kg, 10 x 10kg, 8 x 12.5kg

Dumbbell Concentration Curls: 12 x 5kg, 10 x 7.5kg, 8 x 10kg

Dumbbell Shoulder Shrug: 20 x 10kg, 20 x 10kg, 20 x 10kg

I was going to do my deadlift/chest split today, but thought I’d leave it until Wednesday as I know my chest will ache for a few days and don’t fancy driving and making juices with it lol.

So today was what I call my accessory movements. Basically movements that add to my main lifts during my other two workouts.

With my chin ups I’m going to try and get to 10 reps across each weight range before adding 1kg to each set. Last week I did six reps of each. This week I added two reps to the first set and boy could I feel it in my arms by the last set.

I should get my strength from last year back pretty quickly if I keep this consistency up, but the one thing I’m unsure of is how the lack of sleep will effect me. I’m kind of hoping that by getting back into exercising regularly that I’ll actually be tired come 9pm most evenings to go to sleep, but we’ll see, it hasn’t happened as yet.

Anyway, the other movements are like I said additions to my main lifting sessions. Lunges are one of my favourite accessory movements and I’m aiming to work back up to my best from last year of 20kg dumbbells on each side, bit of a way off yet lol.

The tricep extensions and dumbbell concentration curls are my way of being a bro. I’ve never done any specific arm work as I’ve generally stuck with the main lifts, but I now want to build my arms a bit more, so have included these movements into a workout.

Last but not least were the shoulder shrugs, again a bit like my arms, my traps are a bit small/weak, so I’m adding in a movement specifically for them. Started nice and light today lol, but I just want to get a feel for them having never done them before.

If anyone ever wonders, yes some of my weight lifting sessions are based around body building movements and that’s because that’s what I like.

I enjoy the powerlifts, squats, deadlifts, overhead press, bench press etc but I also enjoy the other movements and whilst I never want to compete on a stage, I’m still technically building my body, so I’m a body builder lol

I’m actually really looking forward to tomorrow’s H.I.I.T session, but I’ll keep it under 10 minutes as like I said I don’t want to over do it, build myself up slowly will be better.

I’ll have plenty of time to do more exercise at the moment, as it’ll be an early day again at work tomorrow as things have gone quiet.

I can’t go into too much detail but a big retail shop has pulled out, and we’ve been left in a bit of doodoo, meaning we’re close to having to let the other person go I work with, and then I won’t be far out the door.

Although it’s not that desperate for me as yet, it’s close and has come out of nowhere. I have been assured that my job is safe for a few months, but it’s still a bit of a surprise.

But like most things, I’d prepared for the worst when I took this job as it was a startup, but I’d hoped for the best and I’ve tried my best with what I could to help/within my job role. We’ll just have to see what happens in the next few months.

I could do without having to go through the whole job hunting process again, in such a short space of time, but if it happens it happens, at least I’m up here in the city now and not down in the countryside, so there’s plenty of jobs to choose from… I hope.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

