Boom Boom Pow – The Transformative Power of Exercise!

I may have been exercising in the form of weight lifting, running, cycling etc for going on 18 years now, but the power to change how I feel by exercising never ceases to amaze me.

Today was a half day at work, like yesterday and like Thursday will be and I’ve even got tomorrow off entirely, so I should be feeling great.

However.

I’m anxious as fuark, because I work for a start up. I don’t know if I’ll have a job from month to month and it’s playing with my emotions much more than I thought it would.

When I got home today I felt good, energised from cycling home, planned the remainder of my day with my weight lifting session to finish it off.

Sweet as.

But.

By the time it had got to my weight lifting session I had gone through every negative emotion possible about my job and the chance of not have one at any given moment.

Which is stupid really, as the boss is really open with how it’s all going and it seems fine for the short term, but the routine long term planner in me is finding it hard to cope with only knowing the short term is covered.

Anyway. Suffice to say I wasn’t in the most positive frame of mind when I went to workout.

But then I put on some high tempo techno music. Holy. Deadlifting. Shit. Batman!

I finished my four sets of deadlifts and felt AMAZING!

Seriously. I was like a different person.

The bass line was banging through my 20 year old, first ever PC speakers, that are like totally indestructable and my brain/body had released some awesome drugs into itself and I felt awwwwesome.

It was such a turn around. I really did feel great. And the remainder of the weight lifting session just flew by and I was cream crackered by the end.

But I felt awesome!

Deadlifts

Before I carry on, here’s what I did today:

Barbell Deadlift: 5 x 79kg, 5 x 99kg, 5 x 109kg, 5 x 119kg

Barbell Bent Over Row: 8 x 41.5kg, 8 x 46.5kg, 8 x 51.5kg

Barbell Incline Bench Press: 5 x 52.5kg, 5 x 57.5kg, 5 x 62.5kg, 5 x 67.5kg

Dumbbell Flye: 8 x 9kg, 8 x 11.5kg, 8 x 14kg

Weighted Ring Dips: 8 x 1kg, 8 x 2.5kg, 6 x 5kg

Holy moly my arms were smoked after the ring dips. I still couldn’t get beyond six reps on the last set today, although I did nearly lock out the seventh rep, it didn’t fully lock so doesn’t count.

The deadlifts were really heavy by the last few reps of the last set, but I still lifted them pretty well considering it was only the second time in 3 months that I’ve deadlifted.

Everything else was pretty sweet.

I think I’m starting to come down now though, but dinner of chicken mayo on baked potato is nearly ready and I think I’ll probably eat it more enthusiastically and happier than I’ve eaten a dinner for a while pmsl.

Oh exercise. How I love you and your mind altering abilities.

Until next time…

WeeMike

2 thoughts on “Boom Boom Pow – The Transformative Power of Exercise!

  1. skatergrrrl 10/02/2016 / 1:32 am

    Music and exercise are a powerful combination. I used to go to raves and not take any drugs, and I’m sure that just the aerobic exercise of dancing at that pace to drum and bass got me out of my head with no need to spend any extra money on dodgy things!!

    • WeeManMike 11/02/2016 / 9:12 pm

      Yup, totally agree, you don’t need drugs and alcohol to have a good time, just a good bass line and a pair of feet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

