The 1/2 Cindy W.O.D nearly killed me, but I’m doing it again.

In case you missed my last post, I’ve decided to change of my usual heavy weight workouts and throw in some crossfit.

I’m replacing 3 workouts a week with a crossfit workout and keeping 1 day a week to heavy weight lifting.

Monday was my first EVER experience of a crossfit workout and I started at the beginning with one called a half Cindy.

Holy. Shit. I. Nearly. Died.

I’m not one for exaggerating (unless I really need to) but I was seriously out of breath, my chest was tight, my arms were killing me and I felt like I’d run a fucking marathon.

In case you don’t know what a half Cindy is, it’s 5 pull ups , 10 push ups and 15 squats, all done as a continuous round and once you’ve done the squats you start again with the pull ups, no stopping.

You have to continue that for 10 ball busting minutes and the idea is to do as many rounds as you can.

Well, I managed 7 full rounds in 10 mins 20 secs. I didn’t want to stop at 10 mins so just finished my last round.

What killed me the most was the pull ups.

I don’t like the kipping pull ups in cross fit, so I stuck with standard fully controlled up and down pull ups, no swinging at all.

By the 4th round my arms we screaming at me to stop, but the push ups and squats were fine, it was just the pull ups that did me in.

I can do about 8-9 good form pull ups (chin well over the bar) for a few sets, but I normally take about 3 mins rest between the sets, not the 1 min that took me to do the push ups and squats during the half Cindy lol.

Anyway, that was Monday and I’m doing another half Cindy tonight, so it will be interesting to see how it goes. My quads are a little sore from Monday, but nothing major, I’ve had a lot worse when doing heavy squats so I’m used to it.

I’ll put up another post tomorrow on how I did, wish me luck!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

