A Weeks Rest but I Feel All Discombobulated!

Well that was one hell of a week just gone. I feel rested and recuperated from not doing any exercise, but my brain is just discombobulated!

Whilst I did enjoy not working out at all last week, it was nice getting back to it today, but last week was really taxing for my poor little brain, I did soooo much on the business it was unreal.

I’ve got to keep this post short today as I really need sleep, first day back on the farm and a chest workout tonight means I’m pooped.

We tried and tried to get the t-shirt printing done ourselves, but there were just too many issues that kept cropping up with our lack of space etc, so we luckily knew of a local t-shirt printers who could do our first batch for us and they’ve now got our first order and we’re hoping that it’ll be with us by the weeks-end.

I spent pretty much 12-14hrs everyday last week getting the website up and running, getting the products on there and making sure it was all ready to go, it’s now live and looking pretty good if I do say so myself.

It was a fucking huuuuge learning curve for me, having never used the ecommerce platform that we went with and although it’s pretty intuitive and easy to use, its still new for me and I’m learning as I go.

Anyway the website is up, we’ve got products being created and we’ve now just got to try and build up some interest on the interwebs!

We have had some sales already, which is fantastic, but sales has always been my downside, my partners too and neither of us like the selling part of it.

We both love designing the products, making them real, getting them up for sale, but then we fall down on the actual selling. We’re both great at the after sales bit as we’ve always done that at our day jobs previously, but the selling, nope, no good at all.

So that’s another thing we’ve got to learn and quickly.

Anyhoo, that’s enough of that.

I did a new chest workout tonight, which the only thing that has changed on it is that I’ve stopped doing flat bench press and gone back to good old weight push ups.

I haven’t enjoyed the last few years doing flat bench press and I decided over the holiday that I’ll give it a rest for a bit and go back to doing weighted push ups that I’ve done for years, I love them to bits and now that I’m stronger from the bench press I can do some serious weight on my back, well I will be able to once I build up to it after these first few weeks getting back into it lol.

I seem to remember being able to do a few reps with about 40kg on my back a few years ago, so I’m aiming for that this time round and we’ll see how it goes, it should be more than achievable as I started at 28kg today, so I’m definitely a tad stronger.

For anyone interested, I’ve got a couple of weights vests that I strap on and then I plonk a weight plate on my upper back/neck to increase the weight even more. I’d highly recommend anyone thinking of weighted pushups to get a vest as putting weight plates on your upper back/neck takes a while to get used to, and I think it took me a good 6 months to get my balance and stability bang on to stop the weight crashing off my back, although if you’ve got a good level of strength already your stability should be alright.

Anyhoo, today’s workout was as follows:

Weighted Push Up – 2 sets of 6 reps @ 10kg, 5 sets of 6 reps @ 28kg.

Incline Bench Press – 5 sets of 6 reps @ 60kg

Bodyweight Ring Dips – 4 sets of 8 reps.

It felt really good to be doing weighted push ups as I said, I don’t know what it is about the bench press, but I don’t see me doing it again this year at least.

I don’t mind the incline bench press, in fact I’ve grown into it this year, so I kept it in this routine and we’ll see what I can build it up to.

I was going to do some dumbbell flyes, but was strapped for time tonight, so I skipped them and did the ring dips instead. I love this exercise too and I think after next week I’ll add on some weight to these and build up to 10kg again like I was at last year.

Right that’s me done for the night.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

