Chest Day – Bench Press, Incline Bench Press and Dumbbell Flyes

So today I spent most of the day tidying up on the farm. Had a big bonfire to burn loads of tree bracken from my prunings over the winter months and also tidied up the yard of all the bulk bins which will be used for Apple picking in a few months.

It was probably one of the easiest days I’ve had for months physically wise. The sun was beating down all day so it was pretty hot and humid, but I can’t complain about that as I had my tshirt off for most of the day and topped up my chest tan lol.

Anyway, short post today as it’s nearly my bed time. Here’s my workout for today.

Flat Bench Press: 2 x 5 reps @ 55kg, 5 x 5 reps @ 85kg

Incline Bench Press: 5 x 5 reps @72.5kg

Dumbbell Flyes: 2 x 8 reps @ 17.5kg, 2 x 8 reps @ 16kg.

Felt pretty good on the flat bench today, but didn’t up the weight to 86 kg like I thought I was going to this morning.

The reason being is that I watched a video from last week that I took of me doing the flat bench press and my form is all over the place. The bench I have isn’t sturdy enough and my left arms is weaker than my right so I firstly need to tighten the bolts on my bench but also I think in my new routine starting the week after next, I’m going to include some dumbbell bench pressing and see how that helps.

Also I’ve never really like the bench press and up until about a year ago I never did it, I’ve always done loads of push ups, weighted push ups, ring push ups, weighted ring push ups etc etc and my chest development has been fine.

Well, I say fine, it’s been good enough. I think i’ll still include the incline bench press as I actually really like that, but it’s just the flat bench press that I just don’t seem to be able to get on with.

Anyway, that’s me done for the night.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

