Bench Press, Sunshine and Fence Building

Today was a lovely hot sunny day on the farm. I hope that summer isn’t coming early and we have a short one!

Spent the majority of the day banging in more fence posts to create an enclosure for our winter squash plants and protect them from rabbits, badgers and deer etc.

If I’d known that we were going to bang more posts in, I might’ve gone a little lighter on my back workout yesterday lol.

Lifting up a 16.5kg post banger and then smashing it down about 10 times per post and doing it for around 25-30 posts is pretty tiring, adding in the baking sun too and I was one pooped weeman come mid afternoon.

I tend to have an afternoon energy lull around 2:30-3pm, it only lasts for about 30 mins and once I’m through it I feel fine and full of energy again, but getting through it is a pain in the arse.

I’ve tried eating an energy packed lunch, drinking coffee etc but nothing seems to stop it so I just go with it and work through it as best I can.

Come 5pm I was glad to go home and once I got home I chucked a banana down my neck, along with some creatine and beta-alanine and cracked straight on with today’s workout:

Flat Bench Press 5,5 55kg
Flat Bench Press 5,5,5,5,5 85kg
Incline Bench Press 5,5,5,5,5 70kg
Dumbbell Flye 8,8 18.5kg
Dumbbell Flye 8,8 16kg

My arms were so whacked by the end of the bench presses and I really didn’t think I had anything left to do the flyes. But once I got going they felt fine and I actually felt stronger than last week on them.

I stupidly realised that it’s not 2 weeks until our week off, it is in fact 3 weeks, which means I’ve got to go a full 3 weeks hitting the workouts hard.

Although I don’t ‘have’ to, I want to, which is a big difference.

I’m getting enough food in me to help my recovery between workouts and working on the farm, I’m getting enough supplements to help aid recovery too and I’ve just got to ensure I get enough sleep to complete the recovery process and I should be fine.

I’ve gone hard for a few weeks at time before, but I’ve never been bang on with everything to really feel the benefit, but this time it’s going to be different.

I’ve been ramping up my workouts more gradually during this routine. I’ve been ramping up my eating gradually too, so now my body should be ready to sustain a 3 week period of heavy workouts.

When I say heavy, I’m not going to up all my main lifts to 90%+ of my 1 rep maxes, but by the end of this 3 week period I should be pretty close.

Right now I’m at around 80% of my 1 rep max on all my main lifts for 5 x 5. Except my squats that is.

I took them a little further down when I reset a month or so ago, and i’m currently at 75% on them, but next weeks squat session will be at 80% and then the last week should be at 85%, which will be a weight I’ve never done for 5 x 5, so that will be exciting!

Anyhoo, better go finish up some business stuff before it’s time for some bed time reading to relax my mind.

My new bedtime routine is to log off all electronic stuff at 10:30pm and then read for 20-30 mins to wind my mind down before I get some sleep.

I won’t say anything about my reading device being electronic pmsl.

Until next time…

WeeMike

6 thoughts on “Bench Press, Sunshine and Fence Building

    • WeeManMike 16/06/2015 / 7:04 am

      Hey there,

      We don’t use mulch, we use myopex or just black plastic on rolls.

      • onomatopoeicbliss 16/06/2015 / 10:14 am

        Yes, here we still refer to the plastic as mulch. What do you use to lay it with?

      • WeeManMike 16/06/2015 / 10:20 am

        The boss of the farm borrows a plastic laying machine that goes on the back of a tractor, does the job in half a day compared to 2 days by hand, which I have done plenty of times lol

  1. IronHarshaw 17/06/2015 / 3:43 am

    Hey Mike, I have a lagging chest (great potential though). Aside from my regular Bench Press and Incline Press, can you recommend anything?

  2. WeeManMike 17/06/2015 / 7:09 am

    Hey!

    My chest has always been one of my strong points. Which is either due to genetics or the fact I’ve always loved push ups, I like to think the former but it’s probably the latter lol.

    When I started getting fit 15+ years ago I started with bodyweight workouts and fell in love with push ups and all their variations.

    All I can say is if you’re already doing bench pressing then simply do more of it, or add some push ups on days you’re not pressing.

    The key for growth in any lagging body part is generally to lift more often, twice or three times a week if you can fit it in and can recover well enough. Just remember you want about 48hrs between sessions for a specific bodypart.

    Also overhead pressing can help with chest development too.

    Since I started doing the overhead press about 5 years ago, my upper chest has definitely got fuller and whilst I’ve not noticed an strength carry over to bench pressing, I do feel that overhead pressing has filled out my upper chest.

    Anyway, hope that helps fella, any other questions just ask! 🙂

Leave a Reply

