Chest day and scheduling movement periods whilst working on the computer.

I love and hate bank holidays. I love them because it means I get a day off from my day job on the farm but I hate them because it means I’ve got to stay at home and work on the business.

Not that I hate working on the business, I love it, knowing I’m building something long term that will hopefully free me from working for someone else. But at you moment any work on the business means 14hr days sat in front of a computer, and I’ve had to really stay organised with my time by scheduling breaks and what I call movement periods.

I make sure that after 55 minutes of sitting on my arse that I get up for a 5 minute walk around, get the blood flowing into my legs etc. Then I sit back down for another 55 minutes work, and then after this 2nd period I get up or away from the computer for a 30 minute break.

Normally during the 30 minute break I go to the toilet, slap some water on my face to freshen me up (not from the toilet!) and then have a drink of water or squash or sometimes a coffee if my brain is a little foggy and maybe something to eat.

Then it’s back to another 55 minute work period.

I use a little timer app on my laptop to let me know when each 55 minutes is up, otherwise I’d just be too engrossed in something to notice the time!

So far it’s been working, I’ve been getting more work done. Not felt so lethargic after I’ve completed something and I’ve generally felt better after a morning or afternoons 3-4hr work stint.

Anyhoo, here’s what I did this bank holiday Monday in my workout:

Flat Bench Press 5,5 60kg
Flat Bench Press 5,5,5,5,5 82.5kg
Incline Bench Press 5,5,5,5,5 62.5kg
Dumbbell Flye 10,10 17.5kg
Dumbbell Flye 10,10 15kg

It felt good sticking with my new routine of just doing a main lift and one accessory again. I feel like I’m getting a decent workout in for the relevant muscle, but it only takes me about 30-45 minutes instead of 70 minutes previously.

I’m still feeling a little anxious that I’m not going to get enough stimulus of a all my muscles, and that I won’t see any growth or strength increases.

But I also know deep down that the majority of my minor muscles get a shit load of work during my farm job, and it’s just the major muscles that need some direct work like I’m now doing in these new routines.

I’ve got to give it at least a month before I feel anything, and then it’ll be another month before I probably see any differences.

But I’m happy to know that if I feel stronger in a months time by doing this routine, then it’s working and I’ll know that the physical changes will start to come within another month or so after that.

Anyhoo, nearly time for a movement break!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

