Chest and Leg Day – Bench Press, Flyes, Squats and Front Squats.

So I’ve started my new reduced routine properly this week. I took it for a trial run last week and it seemed to work fine.

I’ve reduced my workouts down to a main lift and 1 accessory movement, to try and keep some balance in the workout. Plus I’ve moved my days around so that the longer workouts are now at the weekends, when I’ve got the most energy from not working on the farm and also the most time to actually workout!

So this week I’ve done the following so far.

Chest on Monday:

Flat Bench Press 5,5 47.5kg
Flat Bench Press 5,5,5,5,5 80kg
Incline Bench Press 5,5,5,5,5 60kg
Dumbbell Flye 10,10 17.5kg
Dumbbell Flye 10,10 15kg

Legs on Wednesday:

Barbell Squat 5,5 60kg
Barbell Squat 5,5,5,5,5 90kg
Barbell Front Squat 6,6,6,6 52.5kg
Barbell Good Mornings 8,8 52.5kg
Barbell Good Mornings 8,8 47.5kg

So, on chest day I’ve managed to keep my strength from a month ago, which is good, but not unexpected, strength gains don’t disappear that quickly lol.

But for some reason I felt more stable doing both the flat and incline bench presses, who knows why. But I lowered the weight a little on the flyes as I started to feel it in my arms rather than my chest, as I think my arms were pretty tired from farm work carrying shit around all day, and it worked as the 3rd an 4th sets felt good.

I reduced the weight for the front squats though, as I realised I started off too heavy and my arms couldn’t cope with the weight. I can hold it up fine but my shoulders just hurt like hell trying to hold it there for some reason, so I reduced the weight by 10kg and they felt ok.

Legs on Wednesday weren’t going to happen when I got home from work on the farm, as it’s trade show weekend and it’s a pretty big one and took a lot of setting up, loading, unloading and reloading shed loads of 15kg trays of plants and it certainly takes it out of you lol.

Even though it was mainly upper body work, my legs felt whacked. But I rested for a little while before starting my workout and although I didn’t feel fully back to strength I just went for it anyway.

Thankfully or not my body said straight away, uh nope, you ent going to go heavy today. So I reduced the weight down from 110kg to 90kg, which turned out to be a good decision as I felt fucked by the end of the whole workout, so it was bang on.

But with the reduced volume and increased eating, I was recovered and felt fine within a few hours. Unlike a month or so ago where I used to feel whacked going to bed and not particularly rested getting up the next day.

This week though, I’ve felt great, but I’m not getting ahead of myself as I’ve obviously had a few weeks rest and that could be the reason, but I’m not holding back, my body is used to a lot more so it should be fine.

I’ll find out this time next week though, once I’ve got a full week of workouts under my belt, and this weekend is taking down the show stall, loading, unloading and reloading vans again on Mon/Tues, so I’ll know by Tuesday evening if I’m going too hard still on my workouts.

I don’t think I am anyway. It just feels right this reduced volume and with the increased food intake I’m feeling a lot more energetic and mentally focused all day, so it feels like it’s all doing what it’s supposed to, that being making me a better version of me!

Until next time…

WeeMike

2 thoughts on “Chest and Leg Day – Bench Press, Flyes, Squats and Front Squats.

  1. abitofanobsession 22/05/2015 / 5:18 pm

    How long did it take you to do each of these routines? And what did you do for a warm-up?

    • WeeManMike 24/05/2015 / 4:41 pm

      Well this was the first time I’d done these two new reduced routines fully, but they took between 40 and 50 minutes this time. My previous routines always depended on how I’m feeling from a day of working on the farm. If I’m feeling tired I usually take longer between sets, but if I’m full of energy I’ll leave rest periods to about 90-120 seconds per set, but it’s never less than this though as I tend to find my strength levels don’t recover enough if I rest less than 90 seconds between sets.

      My warm up is the first 2 sets of each main lift. So for all routines I normally do 2 sets of 5 reps at around 50% or lower of my 1 rep max on the first movement of the routine.

      So on chest day it’s bench, on leg day it’s squats, back day it’s deadlifts and shoulders it’s overhead press.

      I’ve never really be one to do much warming up for my workouts, as I get a lot of movement from my day job on a farm! But I do always try and stick to a few sets of the first lift I’m going to do at a low weight just to get my muscles ready for that movement.

      Hope that helps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

