Shoulders Day – 11.04.15 – Barbell Push Press, Side Raises and Shrugs

Short entry today, mind feels dead and can’t think. I was looking forward to todays shoulder workout, it’s not overly different to what I’ve been doing but it was different enough to make me feel like I was starting something new.

Here’s what I did today:

Exercise Reps Weight
Push Press 5,5 37.5kg
Push Press 5,5,5,5,5 50kg
Seated Dumbbell Press 6,6 20kg
Seated Dumbbell Press 6,6 17.5kg
Front Dumbbell Raise 10,10,10,10 7.5kg
Dumbbell Side Raise 10,10 10kg
Dumbbell Side Raise 10,10 7.5kg
Barbell Shrugs 5,5,5,5,5 100kg

I’ve done push presses in the past and didn’t feel that they were that great, but I’ve decided to give them a good go this time round, so we’ll see how they go. Started with about 75% of my max this week and they all felt good, having that little bit of help up from the push off makes them seem lighter than they are, which I suppose is the point, it will be interesting to see how I progress on them.

Added in some seated dumbbell presses, which again I haven’t done for a long time but it felt good doing them again, went a little heavier than I should have done as they felt a little too heavy for the first time doing them in ages, but even so I still managed all the reps I set.

Decided to add in some front raises with the side raises and miss out the rear raises, fronts I haven’t done for a few years so started with a weight I thought would be easy, and although it felt light to start with by the last set my front delts were smoked lol, so a good weight to start with!

By the time it came to the side raises I thought best to go with a light to medium weight and glad I did as my shoulders felt smoked even on the first set lol.

Was going to do dumbbell shrugs but thought I go heavy and go for barbell shrugs instead, had to chalk my hands as my grip just wasn’t happy for some reason tonight.

Next weeks workout I think I’ll leave all the accessory movements the same weights but increase the push presses by 2.5kg and see how they feel.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

