Back and Bi’s – 08.04.15 – Barbell Deadlifts, Ring Chin Ups and Barbell Rows.

So today was first back and bi’s workout of my new routine and it went pretty well I thought, although I am fucked now, but that’s probably more to do with taking down a polytunnel on the farm as well.

Here’s what I did tonight:

Exercise Reps Weight
Deadlift 5,5 75kg
Deadlift 5,5 115kg
Deadlift 5,5 115kg
Deadlift 5 115kg
Deficit Deadlift 6,6 80kg
Deficit Deadlift 6,6 80kg
Parallel Ring Chin Up 10 BW
Parallel Ring Chin Up 7 BW
Parallel Ring Chin Up 6,6 BW
Parallel Ring Chin Up 5 BW
Barbell Row 8 56.5kg
Barbell Row 8 56.5kg
Barbell Row 8 51.5kg
Barbell Row 8 51.5kg
Barbell Curls 8,8 26.5kg
Barbell Curls 8,8 21.5kg
Dumbbell Curls 8,8 10kg
Dumbbell Curls 6,6 10kg

Decided to stick with bodyweight ring chins up for this new routine, rather than the wide grip weighted pull ups I was doing previously, they seemed to really whack me for the barbell rows and did suffer from the deadlifts too, so I thought I’d change it up a little this phase.Felt pretty good on all movements and even the deficit deadlifts. I was slightly hesitant going into them as I quite short and don’t have long arms either, so thought I might struggle with them, but they seemed fine and I had no adverse reaction from my lower back so I’ll keep doing them.

Oh man the curls were a killer, the barbell curls were just about ok, could feel the chin ups in them, but the dumbbell curls were torturous. My biceps were screaming at me on pretty much all but the first rep pmsl.

I felt pretty good doing that workout tonight, it was nice getting back to a full proper workout again after 3 weeks off and although I am knackered tonight having done this workout as well as taking down a polytunnel on the farm plus loaded, unloaded and reloaded the works van with farmers markets stuff I still feel strangely full of beans lol, oh well that will soon pass by this time next week once I’ve got a full week of these new routine under my belt and the first 3 straight dayer behind me.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

