Leg Day – 06.04.15 – Barbell Squats and Front Squats

Well, first time working out in a week and only 3rd time in 3 weeks and it wasn’t even a full leg workout, oh well it’s something and I’m back on it now.

I was intending on doing a full leg workout today but then I found some business stuff that needed doing and then it took longer than it should have.

Hey ho, shit happens I still managed to do the following though…

Barbell Back Squat: 5 x 57.5kg, 5 x 57.5kg (warm up) 5 x 100kg, 5 x 100kg, 5 x 100kg, 5 x 100kg, 5 x 100kg, 15 x 60kg, 15 x 60kg.

Front Barbell Squat: 6 x 60kg, 6 x 60kg, 6 x 60kg, 6 x 60kg.

I’ve changed a few things on my workouts for this new phase, the main one being dropping my main lifts to 5 reps only with the reason being that I was getting too tired from my previous rep range and I felt that my strength wasn’t increasing as much as it should.

I’ve then added in a few different accessory movements. On leg day today this was the front squat.

I’ve never done the front squat and thought that I would start at a low weight or at least what I thought was a low weight. But fuck me it was heavy pmsl, my front delts were aching and sore by the end of the 4 sets. Oh well they were fun and punishing at the same time.

I’ve gone with a lower weight to start with on the main back squats with the aim of upping the weight by 5kg each week and adding in the higher rep sets at the end of them to really punish my quads lol.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

