Shoulder Day – 08.03.15 – Finally realised I’m trying to do too much.

So today was a pretty good shoulder workout, but it made me realise something I should have realised a month ago.

I’ve been trying to do too much each workout. Instead of trying to lift slightly heavier on each main lift every workout, every week, I should have just stuck with doing it on one workout each week for a month and just done a maintenance workout on the rest.

I’ve been too eager to try and improve my stats for no other reason other than it’s an ego boost, hey ho, I’ve learnt my lesson today.

Whilst I was stupid in going to be so late last night, and then sitting around on my arse all day doing business related stuff on the poota, it still shouldn’t have had such an effect on my strength as it did.

Heres what I did today:

Barbell Overhead Press 8 34.5kg
Barbell Overhead Press 6 39.5kg
Barbell Overhead Press 1 66kg
Barbell Overhead Press 1 65kg
Barbell Overhead Press 2 63.5kg
Barbell Overhead Press 2 63.5kg
Barbell Overhead Press 4 58.5kg
Barbell Overhead Press 6 53.5kg
Dumbbell Side Raise 6 12.5kg
Dumbbell Side Raise 8 11kg
Dumbbell Side Raise 10 11kg
Dumbbell Side Raise 12 10kg
Rear Delt Row 6 48.5kg
Rear Delt Row 8 46.5kg
Rear Delt Row 10 46.5kg
Rear Delt Row 12 44.5kg
Upright Row 6 39kg
Upright Row 8 36.5kg
Upright Row 10 36.5kg
Upright Row 12 34kg
Dumbbell Shrug 8 35kg
Dumbbell Shrug 10 32.5kg
Dumbbell Shrug 10 32.5kg
Dumbbell Shrug 12 30kg

I wanted to get 2 reps at 66kg after managing 2 at 65kg last Saturday, but I barely got it up for 1 let alone 2. So I took a rest and then tried 65kg, but again it only went up for 1 rep.

So I reduced the weight to 63.5kg and managed 2 reps this time. So I did another 2 rep set at the same weight again, just to make sure it wasn’t a fluke lol.

I finished rest of the workout fine, and felt pretty good by the end too. I had something to eat and a shower and then jumped on the scales and realised that I’ve actually lost a full kg in weight since my last weigh in.

Now I know it won’t be fat loss as I’m on a gaining diet at the moment, so I can only assume it’s been muscle loss due to not eating enough.

I’ve been trying to make sure that I am bang on the calories I’ve set myself and so it would seem that I’m not eating enough. It kind of makes sense as I’ve stepped up my workouts an extra notch and it would seem that the increased weight is whacking my body too much and I’m not giving it enough calories to recover or gain weight and size.

Anyway, it’s chest day tomorrow as normal so it’ll be interesting to see how that goes, but either way I’m going to change up my routine earlier than planned like I said and then we’ll see how things go from there.

I think sticking to one main lift to go really heavy on and try and improve for a month whilst sticking to maintenance on the other lifts for that month will work better than I’ve been trying to do it.

Well, at least until I find a less active job as I’m sure that has something to do with it too lol.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

