Chest Day – 14.02.15 – Incline Bench Press, Dumbbell Flyes and Weighted Ring Dips

Well, that didn’t last long. Me going to bed on time on a Friday night. Watched 3 movies last night and ended up going to bed around 3am, oops!

Oh well, I didn’t wake up until gone 9am, and whilst that’s only 6hrs sleep and I felt sluggish all day today, I knew that I would be at home all day doing business related things, so I wasn’t too worried, and it didn’t affect my workout today, so it’s all good.

Once in a while is ok, but I want to make real strength and size gains this year, then I’ve got to make sure it is definitely only once in a while.

Anyhoo, here’s what I did today:

Incline Bench Press 8 52.5kg
Incline Bench Press 6 60kg
Incline Bench Press 4 82.5kg
Incline Bench Press 6 74.5kg
Incline Bench Press 10 67.5kg
Dumbbell Flye 6 21kg
Dumbbell Flye 8 18.5kg
Dumbbell Flye 10 16kg
Dumbbell Flye 14 13.5kg
Weighted Ring Dips 8 10kg
Weighted Ring Dips 8 7.5kg
Weighted Ring Dips 8 5kg
Weighted Ring Dips 8 2.5kg
Dumbbell Bicep Curl 6 13.5kg
Dumbbell Bicep Curl 7 13.5kg
Dumbbell Bicep Curl 8 11kg
Dumbbell Bicep Curl 10 11kg
Weighted Sit Up 10,10 20kg
Dumbbell Side Bend 15 15kg

 

Just about got the 4th rep on the bench press, which is ok as it’s the heaviest I’ve ever lifted on it, so I was still chuffed. And I squeezed out an extra rep on the last set of flyes too, man they burned the middle of my chest!

Felt strong on the weighted ring dips today, and managed to get 8 reps across all sets, which is good, steady progress being made on them now too.

Next week is the last in the this 3 week run, and will be the heaviest incline bench I’ve ever done, I think I’ll leave the increase to 2.5kg and try 85kg for 4 reps, even though I want to go heavier, but I know I’ve got to do it in small increments otherwise I’ll just set myself back a few weeks by failing on reps before I should do.

Right, that’s me done for the day, the joints in my arms and the bones in my hands are starting to ache, I think the weeks apple tree pruning has caught up with me!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

