Back Day – 04.02.15 – Deadlifts, Weighted Ring Pull Ups and Barbell Rows

Today started off well, I felt fine first thing pruning apple tree’s again, but by lunch time I was feeling tired. My hands and arms were aching for some reason, maybe a bit of repetitive strain ache or something like that.

So by the time I got home to begin my back workout I wasn’t feeling my best. But thankfully after a few sprays of the performance spray and downing my beta-alanine and creatine, I started to feel a lot better, or certainly felt more energised, which is good as that’s what they’re supposed to do!

Deadlifts felt really good today. I’ve made a conscious effort to ensure my form is spot on lately as I’ve had a little lower back pain the day after deadlifts, but today felt really good, and everything felt tight and strong.

In fact I felt really strong on all the back movements today. The ring pull ups were good and the rows even better, despite doing a few extra reps on the pull ups and a little extra weight and reps on the rows, they both felt good.

So along with adding extra weight to the 3 main deadlift sets next week, I’ll also be adding a little extra weight to the barbell rows, and trying for a few more reps on the weighted ring pull ups.

Anyhoo, here’s what I did today:

Deadlift: 6 x 82.5kg, 6 x 97.5kg, 3 x 136.5kg, 4 x 122.5kg, 6 x 110kg

Weighted Ring Pull Up: 4 x 10kg, 5 x 7.5kg, 7 x 5kg, 9 x 2.5kg

Barbell Row: 6 x 52.5kg, 8 x 47.5kg, 10 x 42.5kg, 12 x 37.5kg

Barbell Curls: 8 x 29kg, 8 x 26.5kg, 8 x 26.5kg, 8 x 24kg

Hanging Straight Leg Raise: 10, 10, 10

Side Plank 45 secs, 45 secs

I even felt good doing the leg raises too, so I’ll add a few extra reps to each set next week, then I’m sure I’ll hate them!

Oh man, I’ve got to get up out of this chair in a minute, and I can feel that my legs have seized up a little this evening, oh well, it’ll only be to go to bed, aaah ZMA dreams, bliss!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

