Chest Day – 25.01.15 – Incline Bench Press, Dumbbell Flyes and Weighted Ring Dips

Oh man today was shockingly bad. Although I still did my workout, I felt weak as shit doing it.

I didn’t go to bed that late last night, or the night before, and I felt normal all day, not tired nor overly energetic.

I did spend most of today doing business accounting, so it’s possible being sat around all day had something to do with it.

I actually felt ok on the warm up sets of the incline bench press, but once I got to the heavy set I just felt weak as shit on them, I barely locked out the last rep of each of the first two heavy sets. They were only 0.5kg heavier than last week, but it could’ve been 10kg I really felt that weak doing them.

When I did the last set I actually squeezed out 2 extra reps and felt pretty good, it was just the first two sets.

It’s also possible that due to being pretty inactive today, that my upper body just needed longer to warm up, but either way the rest of the workout was pretty shit too.

I didn’t stop to think about it too much, I just got on with the flyes, weighted ring dips and dumbbell curls, and finished up. Didn’t bothered with the weighted sit ups or side bends.

Here’s what I ended up doing today:

Incline Bench Press 8 52.5kg
Incline Bench Press 6 59kg
Incline Bench Press 4 80kg
Incline Bench Press 6 72kg
Incline Bench Press 10 65kg
Dumbbell Flye 6 20kg
Dumbbell Flye 8 17.5kg
Dumbbell Flye 10 15kg
Dumbbell Flye 12 12.5kg
Weighted Ring Dips 6 10kg
Weighted Ring Dips 7 7.5kg
Weighted Ring Dips 8 5kg
Weighted Ring Dips 8 2.5kg
Dumbbell Bicep Curl 6 12.5kg
Dumbbell Bicep Curl 6 12.5kg
Dumbbell Bicep Curl 8 10kg
Dumbbell Bicep Curl 10 10kg

Today was the last day of heavy workouts, for a week at least anyway. Next week is deload week, where I’ll be knocking off about 25% off all the main movements, and missing out most of the accessory movements.

The aim being to give my body time to recuperate from the last 3 weeks workouts, but to still do enough to not lose any strength gained from the last few weeks. And then hopefully come the week after that I’ll be able to lift the same as this week, and then increase the weights again for a couple of weeks before taking another week to deload.

I’m hoping that by doing it this way this year, I’ll be able to continue to increase the weight more than I have in previous years, and I won’t get to the middle of the year and start to feel really whacked all the time, and then start stagnating with the weights because I’ve not allowed myself enough time to recuperate, what with my pretty active day job on a fruit farm.

The aim this year with the deload week is that this will keep me fresher and I will be able to try out my 1 rep maxes come summer time, then we’ll really see if I’m any stronger or not. Which is kind of silly really because I already know I am stronger than ever before, simply because I’m lifting similar weights as the last few years, but for multiple reps and sets, but it’ll still be nice to actually see the 1 rep max numbers.

Right’o that’s that for today, I’m off with what little time is left before bed to work out what I’ll be doing weights wise next week. Oh and starting to get excited because I’m off to see Manchester United play again at the weekend, whoop whoop!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

