Leg Day – 05-01-2015 – Squats, Glute Thrusts and Lunges!

So today was the first day in months that I’d set myself up for a proper workout, back on it as I like to say, but I made sure I swallowed my pride and my ego when I was planning the workout, I ensured that I made the weights a little bit lighter than the last time I did a proper workout.

The reason being I went lighter is not because I think I am weaker than a few months ago (which I probably am) and I know that I could get pretty close to the weights I was lifting from my last leg day, but I also know that if I went too heavy to begin with, after not lifting for so long, that I’d be sore as fuck tomorrow, and the next day especially, and I’d also probably fail on a few reps, which is a big no no when starting up again.

So I lightened the load by about 15-20% on squats, and about 10% on the assistance exercises, and it paid off because everything felt spot on, I hit all reps, and I felt fucked by fantastic by the end of the session.

Sure it took me 75 minutes rather than the normal 50-55 minutes, but I was slower than I normally am in setting each exercise up, and needed a little extra rest between a few sets, but that was to be expected considering the time off.

By going lighter, by taking a bit of extra time in the planning and execution of the workout today, I ensure that I not only completed it all, but that I felt great afterwards, and being the person who writes down all his workouts, I can see that it will be about mid February and I should be back up to the same weights as I was lifting in Oct last year, which will leave me about 10 months of the year to improve on them, yeah, that’s doable I think pmsl.

Anyway, here’s today’s leg day workout…

Barbell Squat 8 70kg
Barbell Squat 8 80kg
Barbell Squat 4 111kg
Barbell Squat 6 101kg
Barbell Squat 8 95lg
Barbell Good Mornings 8 51.5kg
Barbell Good Mornings 10 46.5kg
Barbell Good Mornings 10 41.5kg
Barbell Good Mornings 12 36.5kg
Dumbbell Single Leg Calf Raise 8 21kg
Dumbbell Single Leg Calf Rais
8 18.5kg
Dumbbell Single Leg Calf Rais
8 16kg
Dumbbell Single Leg Calf Rais
8 13.5kg
Barbell Glute Bridge 8 109kg
Barbell Glute Bridge 10 109kg
Barbell Glute Bridge 10 99kg
Barbell Glute Bridge 12 99kg
Dumbbell Lunge 8 15kg
Dumbbell Lunge 8 12.5kg
Dumbbell Lunge 8 10kg
Dumbbell Lunge 8 7.5kg

I whacked on some of the Transdermal Technologies After Spray, so as to reduce the DOMs I know I’ll be feeling tomorrow, it usually works, but seeing as though it’s been a fair while since my last workout, I’m expecting it to not work so well this next few days lol.

I’ve started to keep my food intake logged on MyFitnessPal again too, in case you’re nosey as to what I eat, go take a looksy here: http://www.myfitnesspal.com/food/diary/WeeMikeSilver?date=2015-01-05.

Right, i’m off, sorting out a eating plan for a friend, and then it’s bed early for the first time in a few weeks for me, and I need it tonight, because I’m fucked!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

