Leg workout 01.10.14 – Squats and more

Today was lower body/leg day and I was well chuffed with myself. I’ve never done 130kg for more than 1 rep before, so when I planned todays workout last week and wrote down 3 reps, I started thinking “fucking hell, there’s no way I’ll get 2 reps”.

But then when I looked back over the last few weeks workouts I thought to myself that actually yeah I’ll be alright, and low an behold I felt pretty damn good on the 3rd rep and probably could’ve got a 4th too, but I didn’t and I’m glad I didn’t because I only just got the 7th rep on the last set, which is the set I’m happy to fail a rep on.

Anyway, more on the workout later, here’s what I lifted today first…

Barbell Squat 10 x 80kg
Barbell Squat 8 x 90kg
Barbell Squat 3 x 130kg
Barbell Squat 5 x 115kg
Barbell Squat 7 x 105kg

Barbell Glute Bridge 10 x 111.5kg
Barbell Glute Bridge 10 x 101.5kg
Barbell Glute Bridge 10 x 91.5kg
Barbell Glute Bridge 10 x 81.5kg

Barbell Good Mornings 8 x 53.5kg
Barbell Good Mornings 8 x 48.5kg
Barbell Good Mornings 10 x 43.5kg
Barbell Good Mornings 12 x 38.5kg

Single Leg Dumbbell Calf Raise 10 x 21kg
Single Leg Dumbbell Calf Raise 12 x 18.5kg
Single Leg Dumbbell Calf Raise 12 x 16kg
Single Leg Dumbbell Calf Raise 14 x 13.5kg

Dumbbell Lunge 8 x 15kg
Dumbbell Lunge 10 x 12.5kg
Dumbbell Lunge 10 x 10kg
Dumbbell Lunge 12 x 7.5kg

So as normal I do 2 sets of warm ups on the main lift, then straight into the heavy set and as this was the first time I was attempting more than 1 rep at 130kg or above I was feeling a little nervous.

I had my normal banging trance music going on, which helps keep my motivated and zoned in during my workouts, but this time I zoned out and really focussed on the movement I was about to do.

I got under the bar, made some adjustments to my hands and the bar on my shoulders and then took some of the weight of the bar, and my first thought was “fuck this is heavy” … but I pushed up further and then moved into position and then without any waiting I took a deep breath, chest up and down I went, and then up I came, a quick breath, chest out, and back down I went again, and again for a 3rd rep.

I was really chuffed with myself, I re-racked the weight and thought to myself that I had a 4th rep in me, saweet!

But I only go to failure on my last set on this new pyramid training, and I definitely got close to it this week as I mentioned above I nearly failed on the 7th rep on the last set, but I really concentrated on pushing, and it came back up.

Next week I’ll aim for 4 reps on the heaviest set, and then 6 and 8+ on the other 2 heavy sets, everything else I’ll keep the same as squats really knock me for 6, then the week after that I’ll increase the other movements if I’m feeling good on them.

Right, I’m pooped after that, time for my dinner, sweet n sour chicken, rice and prawn crackers om nom nom. Then a milk protein and banana shake later on mmmmm I loooove my milk protein shakes!

Until next time…

WeeMike

 

Leave a Reply

