Thursday Workout 13.03.14 – Barbell Squats and Weighted Ring Push Ups

Holy shit todays leg and chest workout was epic. Like last week I was fecked by the end of it, but a good fecked, a fecked that made me feel like I’d done good lol

As always at the moment, I was picking daffodils on the farm this morning, then taking down the local farmers market stalls this afternoon, which made me tired, and then having to do a workout, let alone a leg an chest workout, definitely glad I had my pre-workout creatine and beta-alanine.

Here’s todays workout…

Exercise Reps Weight in KG Mins Rest
Barbell Squat 12 71.5 1.5
1 Barbell Squat 8 106.5 2
Barbell Squat 10 101.5 2.5
Barbell Squat 10 96.5 2.5
Barbell Squat 14 86.5 5
2 Ring Push Up 10 5.00 1.5
Ring Push Up 6 34.50 2
Ring Push Up 6 30.50 2
Ring Push Up 8 25.5 2
Ring Push Up 10 20.5 4
3 Barbell Good Mornings 12 31.5 1.5
Barbell Good Mornings 8 46.5 1.5
Barbell Good Mornings 10 41.5 1.5
Barbell Good Mornings 12 36.5 3
4 Ring Flyes 12 1 1.5
Ring Flyes 8 7.5 1.5
Ring Flyes 10 5 1.5
Ring Flyes 12 2.5 3
5 Dumbbell Lunge 12 10 1.5
Dumbbell Lunge 8 17.5 1.5
Dumbbell Lunge 10 15 1.5
Dumbbell Lunge 12 12.5 0

Upped the weight slightly on the warm up set of squats, then added 2 reps to the 2nd set and was planning on 2 reps on the last set, but I felt pretty good and did 4 extra reps instead, but the last rep burned like hell, and felt like I had way more weight on the bar lol.

Weighted ring push ups were hard as always, but completed all my reps, didn’t bother adding any reps on top of last set, as arms just couldn’t take it.

Good mornings were nice an tight. Great form, nice control, will up the weight slightly next week.

The weighted ring flyes were tough as hell, added a couple of reps to the 3rd set, and was planning on 2 extra reps on the last set too, but arms an chest were smoked so could only manage 1.

As always I leave the dumbbell lunges to last, mainly because I’m a masochist, but also because I know I’m already tired from the rest of the workout, so I’ve got to really focus, keep strong and stable to make sure I do them properly. My heart rate goes through the roof, and my legs really fucking burn, especially on the last set.

Chuffed to bits with todays workout, now I’m really going to enjoy my 2 days off, but then it’s planning next weeks workouts too, where I’ll be dropping the reps by a few on several sets, but upping the weight a little, got to keep improving if I want to see some muscle gains before going to Malta at the end of April!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

