Tuesdays Workout 11.03.14 – Daffodil Picking, Deadlifts and Weighted Wide Grip Pull Ups

Oh man, today was one hell of a day. Picking Daffodils on the farm all morning again, so that’s an aching lower back and hammies. Then pulling up an acre of plastic which had grass and weeds etc grown over it, so that’s aching arms and legs on top of the lower back and hammies aching.

And then what’s this when I get home, oh yay a hefty workout, bollocks. Ah well, downed my beta-alanine and creatine, got ma tingle on and went for it…

Exercise Reps Weight in KG Mins Rest
1 Deadlift 6 91.5 1
Deadlift 6 101.5 1.5
Deadlift 6 111.5 1.75
Deadlift 5 121.5 1.75
Deadlift 5 131.5 4
2 Weighted Wide Pull Up 8 2 1.5
Weighted Wide Pull Up 7 5 1.5
Weighted Wide Pull Up 8 BW 1.5
Weighted Wide Pull Up 8 BW 3
3 Barbell Row 10 37.5 1.5
Barbell Row 6 52.5 1.5
Barbell Row 8 47.5 1.5
Barbell Row 12 42.5 3
4 Weighted Ring Dips 10 2.5 1.5
Weighted Ring Dips 6 7 1.5
Weighted Ring Dips 8 5 1.5
Weighted Ring Dips 12 3.5 3
5 Barbell Curls 12 16.5 1.5
Barbell Curls 8 26.5 1.5
Barbell Curls 10 24 1.5
Barbell Curls 7 21.5 1.5
Barbell Curls 7 21.5  0

Deadlifts were good today, added an extra rep on to each of the last 2 sets, last set was a right fucker, but they all went up.

Started the weighted wide grip pull ups, but on the 2nd set my lower back just felt shit, aching and not right. So I dropped the weights for the last 2 sets and just stuck to bodyweight, it felt just about alright by the end.

Strangely it didn’t hurt at all on the barbell rows, maybe because I have to consciously compress my middle when I do them, don’t know, either way the ache was gone by the end of them anyway.

On the ring dips I added a couple of reps to the last set, just locked out the last rep on the last set, arms were shaking like fuck.

Barbell curls felt shit today, plan was to do 14 reps on last set, but got to 7 and arms felt weak as shit, so stopped for 30 seconds and then did another 7 instead.

Today was one of those days where I’ll gladly take what I did without question. After busting my nuts on the farm I can’t be expecting my body to be busting out the weights at the end of the day too, I’m just hoping in a few weeks time when I get to about 90% of my 1 rep maxes on the big lifts that the farm work has eased up a bit, which it should have done, but you never know with our place, things always crop up when you least expect them.

Hey ho, just have to make sure I get plenty of sleep, eat a little more food than planned, which I’ve been doing. I’m now up to 2900 calories most days, which for someone who is short like me is a fuck load, but then I need to try and keep the GAINS coming lol.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

