Mondays Workout 03.03.14 – Building up to a Handstand Push Up!

On my two off days during the week and on Saturdays, I’ve decided I’m going to work on my handstands, in the hope of eventually being able to do a free standing handstand push up.

At the moment I am only able to do a wall handstand, but I can hold it for nearly 2 minutes, and I can do about 7 or 8 wall handstand push ups in one set, or 5 reps for 3 sets with a minute or so break in between each.

From next week I’ll be practicing free standing hand stands on all my off days, and I’m not going to bother with the wall handstand any more as my shoulder strength is good enough, I just need to work on the stability issue’s, and actually getting into the free hand stand position lol

A free standing handstand is something I’ve never been able to do, in fact I’ve never wanted to, until now. So at 37 years old I thought fuck it, it’s about time I tried it, and instead of leaving it at that, like I generally do, I thought lets make it really hard and go for a freestanding handstand push up too – wazzuk!!

Anyhoo, today I decided to make sure my wall handstands were up to scratch, and I did 4 sets of 30 secs holds, so my shoulder strength is there, and after a shoulder day yesterday too lol, so for the other two off days this week I’ll make a start on the free standing handstand, heh heh, this is going to be so much fun, NOT.

The aim hopefully by the time we go to Malta (8-9) weeks, is that I’ll be able to at least do a free standing handstand, which I think is doable, as long as I don’t go injury myself lol.

Oh and incase you wanted to be nosey at what I eat, take a looksy here… http://www.myfitnesspal.com/food/diary/WeeMikeSilver?date=2014-03-03

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

