Sundays Workout 02.03.14 – Barbell Overhead Shoulder Presses and Weighted Chin Ups

First shoulder workout of my new routine, and I’ve got to say it felt pretty damn good.

I decided at the end of last week that I definitely wanted to put on more muscle, but make sure I keep my body fat the same, or even lower it a little, so along with some eating changes (mainly making sure I get enough protein and carbs and decrease my fat intake) I’ve decided to mix up my old routine with the addition of something new for 6 weeks, which will coincide with us going to Malta for a few days, and I can use the 6 days away as my break week.

So I decided to include a warm up set with highish reps, followed by 4 working sets on each of the main exercises I do, with the heaviest set first at lowish reps, working down with a lighter weight but higher reps for each remaining set.

This will be week one, where my heaviest sets are at 80% of my 1 rep max, then on the second week I’ll add 1 rep to each set, but keep the weight the same.

Then on the third week I’ll up the weight slightly on all sets to 85% of my 1 rep max, but drop the reps back down to week one’s. Then on the 4th week, like week two I’ll up the reps but keep the weight the same, and so on and so on, until I get to week 7, where I should be at 95% of my 1 rep maxes for the heaviest set, and I might go for an all out week, where I only do the main lifts but try to a new max, we’ll see how my body is holding up by then.

All this is including a new more focused eating plan, whereby I’m monitoring it more closely, using MyFitnessPal, and making sure I get as close as possible to my protein and carb intakes each day, and making sure I stay under my fat intake too.

I’ve got something planned for my off days, but I’ll leave that for my next post tomorrow, in the mean time, here’s todays workout…

Exercise Reps Weight in KG Mins Rest
Barbell Overhead Press 10 33.5 1
1 Barbell Overhead Press 6 53.5 1.5
Barbell Overhead Press 6 50 1.5
Barbell Overhead Press 8 46.5 1.5
Barbell Overhead Press 8 41.5 3
2 Chin Up 10 2.50 1.5
Chin Up 6 5.00 1.5
Chin Up 8 4.50 1.5
Chin Up 8 3.50 3
3 Rear Delt Row 10 21.5 1.5
Rear Delt Row 10 26.5 1.5
Rear Delt Row 10 31.5 2
4 Barbell Glute Bridge 10 86.5 1
Barbell Glute Bridge 10 96.5 1
Barbell Glute Bridge 8 101.5 1
Barbell Glute Bridge 8 106.5 3
5 Upright Row 10 21.5 1.5
Upright Row 10 26.5 1.5
Upright Row 10 31.5 2
6 Dumbbell Side Raise 10 5 1.5
Dumbbell Side Raise 10 7.5 1.5
Dumbbell Side Raise 10 10 0

The only major difference in this new routine is that I’ve added in some side lateral raises at the end, just to really round off the shoulder workout, literally! Other than that all the exercises are the same, I’ve just changed up the weights and reps.

I got such a great shoulder pump from this workout, when I went for a shower afterwards and caught myself in our big mirror, I was surprised at how good my shoulders and upper back looked – it’s almost like all this hard work is actually starting to pay off lol.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

