Sundays Workout – Barbell Squats and Weighted Ring Push Ups

Ahhh, that was a great two days off. Feeling much better today, refreshed and not aching lol.

I was going to do my normal H.I.I.T barefoot running on the treadmill yesterday, but I thought my body could do with the extra days rest. I was starting to feel too many aches in different body parts and knew that if I didn’t take a couple of days off, things might start to turn from aches to pains.

And boy did I make the most of yesterdays off day. Friday was a normal day on the farm, felt a little knackered by the end of it, and the evening was my normal junk food, rum an coke and filum watching, but Saturday, oh man it was great, I did the grand total of fuck all.

I think the most active I was all day was getting out of bed, getting off the sofa to relieve myself and make something to eat or drink, the rest of the day I spent reading fitness related stuff and playing poota games, man I love Mario Kart and PES 2013!

Anyhoo, I’m nice an rested today, even so, it’s still light weight/higher rep week this week, so to kick it off this is what I did today…

Exercise Reps Weight in KG Mins Rest
Barbell Squat 10 56.5 1
1 Barbell Squat 10 66.5 1.5
Barbell Squat 10 76.5 1.5
Barbell Squat 10 86.5 3
2 Ring Push Up 8 5.00 1
Ring Push Up 8 10.00 1.5
Ring Push Up 8 15.00 1.5
Ring Push Up 8 20 3
3 Barbell Good Mornings 10 26.5 1
Barbell Good Mornings 10 31.5 1
Barbell Good Mornings 10 36.5 2
4 Ring Flyes 8 1.5 1
Ring Flyes 8 3 1
Ring Flyes 8 5 1
5 Dumbbell Lunge 12 5 1
Dumbbell Lunge 12 7.5 1.5
Dumbbell Lunge 12 10 0

My poor legs were screaming at me on the last set of squats, even though it was lighter than normal, by the end my heart still felt like it was coming out of my chest lol.

The rest of it was pretty good, I got the reps and weight pretty spot on, just felt light enough to not be testing me too much, but yet still heavier enough that once I finished I knew I had done a good workout.

I think on tomorrows run I’m going to reduce the intervals from 1 minute to 30 seconds, we’ll see how I feel when I get back from the farm.

On a final note, I subscribe to an email list called brain-pickings, and I picked up a great idea that I’m running with for the next few weeks to see what happens.

3 things that went well for me today…

1: Woke up feeling refreshed and full of energy for the first time in several months on a Sunday. Why? Because I had gone to bed both Friday and Saturday night not too late and got around 7-8hrs sleep both nights.

2: Realised I do actually have just enough money to change jobs, and then move back to my home town. Why? Because I spent a few hours working out my finances for the next few months.

3: Didn’t feel really whacked after my weights workout. Why? Because I lifted lighter weights instead of heavy ones.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

