Thursday Workout 20.02.14 – Overhead Shoulder Press, Weighted Chin Ups and Rest Week Coming Up!

Pheweee I’m knackered this evening. It’s a been a long 5 weeks, adding in the H.I.I.T running and upping the volume and weight I’ve been lifting has certainly whacked my body. Adding in all the farm work too and I’m surprised I haven’t broken, must be getting even stronger lol …. hey ho, it’s over for another week anyway.

I go in 5 week cycles you see, I like to lift heavy for 5 weeks and then go light with higher reps for 1 week, and use it as a rest week where I let my body recover. I’ve got to say I am really looking forward to next weeks recovery this time.

Looking back on what I was lifting this time last year, and my 2nd warm up sets now are what I was lifting at my heaviest, across the board pretty much too, deadlifts, squats, overhead shoulder press, weighted chins, pulls and push ups, so it’s no wonder my poor body is screaming at me everyday for a break lol.

Anyhoo, here’s what I did for todays workout…

Exercise Reps Weight in KG Mins Rest
Barbell Overhead Press 8 31.5 1
1 Barbell Overhead Press 8 36.5 1
Barbell Overhead Press 6 41.5 1.5
Barbell Overhead Press 6 46.5 1.5
Barbell Overhead Press 6 51.5 1.5
Barbell Overhead Press 6 56.5 3
2 Chin Up 10 2.50 1
Chin Up 8 5.00 1
Chin Up 8 6.00 1
Chin Up 5 7.50 3
3 Rear Delt Row 10 35 1
Rear Delt Row 8 37.5 1
Rear Delt Row 6 40 2
4 Upright Row 10 21.5 1
Upright Row 8 26.5 1
Upright Row 6 31.5 0

So although I was feeling thick and slow again today, I did managed to just squeeze out the 6th rep on the last set of OHP’s, which is great and I’m well chuffed with, but the chin ups I had to reduce by 2 reps on the last 2 sets as my arms just felt weak, and I also cut out the glute raises because my legs were still feeling pretty thick and slow from runs, so I thought fuck it I’ll skip the glute raises for this week.

I’ve decided to give the run a miss on Saturday and take my normal day off tomorrow with an additional day off on Saturday, I’ll do a few push ups and bodyweight squats and my normal wall handstand presses, but that’ll be it, a nice couple of days off, woo!

I’ll also work out on Saturday what reps and weights I’m going to do for my recovery week next week, but right now I think I’m going to do 4 sets of 10 reps of what I normally do, and not go above 60% of my max.

Right, it’s pork night tonight, sausages and bacon with potato waffles and baked beans mmmmm om nom nom nom, can’t wait!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

