Wednesdays Workout – Running Intervals on a Treadmill

Today I decided to take it a little easier than last time, didn’t want to hurt my calf again, it’s stopped aching and I want it to stay that way lol.

So this is what I ended up doing…

  • 00:04:00 | 8 km/hr | jog
  • 00:01:00 | 10 km/hr | run
  • 00:01:00 | 15 km/hr | sprint
  • 00:01:00 | 10 km/hr | run
  • 00:01:00 | 15 km/hr | sprint
  • 00:01:00 | 10 km/hr | run
  • 00:02:00 | 8 km/hr | jog
  • 00:01:00 | 10 km/hr | run
  • 00:01:00 | 15 km/hr | sprint
  • 00:01:00 | 10 km/hr | run
  • 00:01:00 | 15 km/hr | sprint
  • 00:01:00 | 10 km/hr | run
  • 00:02:00 | 8 km/hr | jog
  • 00:02:00 | 4 km/hr | walk

Like I said, I didn’t go all out towards the end like last time, I really didn’t fancy having calf ache again. But this time I did up the pace on the sprints from 13 km/h to 15 km/h and kept it at this throughout, and I felt good, tiring towards the end of the minute but not too much.

So after that I’m going to keep it the same for Saturdays run and will probably do for next week too, get used to it and then try half a km/h faster on the sprint the week after that.

One thing I’ve learnt from today’s run is that I definitely need to get some shoes, barefoot running on the treadmill isn’t working, I can put up with the small blister on my foot, but I’m finding that when I get about halfway into the run my feet start sweating loads and I occasionally slip, so I’ll get some basic flat shoes tomorrow or Friday.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

