Tuesdays Workout – Deadlifts and Weighted Wide Grip Pull Ups

Oh man todays workout was fucking tough going. Having upped my workouts at the beginning of this month, I thought I was going ok, but since Sundays workout and yesterdays interval running, holy shit was I whacked today.

Then when you add in some more trench digging at the farm, so my lower back, hamstring and arms took a pounding, then pruning apple tree’s which gives my elbows and hands repetitive strain syndrome, and I was ready to relax big time when I got home today, but nope, I pushed myself to workout, forcing my body to adapt or break, we’ll see which one it does soon enough!

So todays workout was as follows…

Exercise Reps Weight in KG Mins Rest
1 Deadlift 6 89 1
Deadlift 6 99 1
Deadlift 6 109 1.5
Deadlift 4 119 1.5
Deadlift 4 129 1.5
Deadlift 4 139 2
2 Weighted Wide Pull Up 8 2 1.5
Weighted Wide Pull Up 8 3 1.5
Weighted Wide Pull Up 6 4 1.5
Weighted Wide Pull Up 6 5 2
3 Barbell Row 10 37.5 1
Barbell Row 8 42.5 1
Barbell Row 8 47.5 1
Barbell Row 6 52.5 2
4 Weighted Ring Dips 8 2.5 1.5
Weighted Ring Dips 8 5 1.5
Weighted Ring Dips 6 6 1.5
Weighted Ring Dips 6 7.5 0

As I said, I was already whacked before I started, and when I got to the last set of deadlifts, holy shit were the last couple of reps hard to lock out, but I did, bang on couldn’t have done anymore.

Then the weighted wide grip pull ups nearly killed me lol … normally I feel strong and in control of these, but shit a brick I was all over the place, struggled on the 3rd set, and on the last set I was ready to give up on the 4th rep, but I squeezed out the last 2 reps with a massive roar at the end lol.

The rows were easy enough, kept a nice slow controlled movement, squeezing my back/lats at the top, just got the last rep of the last set with good form, good enough!

I was going to give the weighted ring dips a miss as my elbows and wrists don’t like them, but I thought fuck it, I’ll push through the aching, it’s not pain so I should be ok… And I actually felt strong and in control, of all of them too. Only when I had stopped in between each set did they ache, but I just ignored it as best I could and prepared for the next set.

Overall a knackering day, but really satisfying for me. I can see my strength and endurance are increasing, and although my body is screaming at me with aches all over the place, I’m just plugging away, keeping on going until it either breaks or adapts ….. hopefully it will be the latter as I’m not pushing beyond what I know I should be able to do, just got to make sure I continue to eat right and get my 7.5 hrs sleep.

I’ve decided today that I’m going to start using MyFitnessPal again, as I used it a little last year to track my eating, then stopped after about a month once I realised my nutrition was good enough for what I wanted to do fitness wise.

The reason I’m going to use it again for a while is because I think my protein intake is a little lower than it should be, I know my carbs should be about right and my fat intake too, but I think with me being slightly heavier than last year, I need to up my protein intake, but we’ll see, I’m going to log my eating for a few days and then I’ll start posting a link too, in case anyone is nosey enough to want to see what I eat lol.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

