Mondays Workout – Interval Running/Sprinting

Well after yesterdays leg workout, I was feeling a little sore in the gluteus maximus and hamstring areas, so I was hoping for an upper body day on the farm, say like pruning maybe. But oooooh no, we had to dig a couple of trenches to heel in some tree’s, and although it was only for a couple of hours, by the end my legs and butt were screaming at me.

Anyhoo, I got to sit down driving the van for most of the afternoon as I was out delivering apples, but then I remembered that it was running day, EGADS!!

By the time I got home from the farm, my legs were feeling really heavy, but I downed some beta-alanine with a bit of OJ and then got changed and went for it.

My calf had been feeling fine all day today at work, but once I started running I thought I wasn’t going to be able to do a mile, so I changed to intervals instead.

What I ended up doing is below, which I shall explain….

  • 00:05:00 | 4 km/hr
  • 00:01:00 | 10 km/hr
  • 00:01:00 | 13 km/hr
  • 00:01:00 | 10 km/hr
  • 00:01:00 | 13 km/hr
  • 00:01:00 | 10 km/hr
  • 00:01:00 | 13 km/hr
  • 00:02:00 | 10 km/hr
  • 00:04:00 | 4 km/hr
  • 00:01:00 | 10 km/hr
  • 00:00:30 | 18 km/hr
  • 00:02:00 | 10 km/hr
  • 00:02:00 | 4 km/hr
  • 00:01:00 | 10 km/hr
  • 00:00:30 | 18 km/hr
  • 00:01:00 | 10 km/hr
  • 00:05:00 | 4 km/hr

So when I started off with the warm up my calf felt fine, but then as soon as I speeded up to 10 kph I could feel it go all thick and it started to ache, to which I nearly stopped but I thought ah well I’ll just carry on, but with some intervals and see how I go.

Got through a few sets of intervals and it was just a dull ache still, so I slowed to a walk for a few minutes and then really went for it, upped the speed on the treadmill to as fast as it goes, and after 30 seconds I was fecked so I slowed it back down again.

Did this twice with a walk in between as right at the end of the 30 seconds my calf starting feeling worse. Then it got better so I went for it for one more set, and then called it a day.

Sat here now, it’s only about half as bad as it was, so I think it’ll be alright, and I think I got it just about right with not pushing it too hard.

But man am I fucked, sweated loads, heart rate went through the roof, anyone would’ve thought that’s what HIIT is supposed to do pmsl

Until next time…

WeeMike

4 thoughts on “Mondays Workout – Interval Running/Sprinting

  1. run100run 10/02/2014 / 7:39 pm

    I’d love for you to follow my running journey run100run.wordpress.com

    • WeeManMike 10/02/2014 / 9:51 pm

      Done! Sounds like an interesting challenge, will be great to see how you go! ….. can’t say I’d do anything like that, but then I’ve never liked running long distances lol …. good luck to you!

  2. 2 Cups 'N Run 11/02/2014 / 7:44 pm

    Nice workout, how do you even manage 18 km/h? Was that on the treadmill?

    • WeeManMike 11/02/2014 / 9:28 pm

      Thanks! Yes, it was on a treadmill, I can’t run outdoors, too many things get in my way when sprinting! ….. I guess 18km/h is quite fast lol, it’s as fast as my treadmill will go, so I can’t go any faster until I get a new one, but that won’t be for a long while I think! 🙂

Leave a Reply

