Sundays Workout – Squats and Ring Push Ups.

I thought I’d start posting my workouts on the blog, for those that don’t want to go look at them on Fitocracy, so without further ado, here’s what I did today…

Exercise Reps Weight in KG Mins Rest
Barbell Squat 10 66.5 1
1 Barbell Squat 8 76.5 1
Barbell Squat 6 86.5 1
Barbell Squat 6 96.5 1.5
Barbell Squat 4 106.5 1.5
Barbell Squat 4 116.5 3
2 Ring Push Up 8 10.00 1
Ring Push Up 6 15.00 1
Ring Push Up 6 20.50 1
Ring Push Up 4 25.5 1.5
Ring Push Up 4 30.5 1.5
Ring Push Up 3 35.5 3
3 Barbell Good Mornings 10 29 1
Barbell Good Mornings 8 34 1
Barbell Good Mornings 8 39 1
Barbell Good Mornings 6 44 2
4 Ring Flyes 8 2.5 1
Ring Flyes 8 3.5 1
Ring Flyes 6 5 1
Ring Flyes 6 7 2
5 Dumbbell Lunge 10 7.5 1
Dumbbell Lunge 8 10 1
Dumbbell Lunge 8 12.5 1
Dumbbell Lunge 6 15 0

Phew, to say I was pooped today is an understatement, although I always am after two days off.

My workout and healthy eating week starts on a Sunday and ends on a Thursday, and I take Friday and Saturday as my days off and I also eat any junk food I fancy on those two days as well.

This year I’m weightlifting 3 times during those 5 days, and running for the other 2. And my running is either HIIT over 20 mins or like it is right now, trying to run 1 mile as quick as I can. I have got the mile down to 7 mins 30 seconds, from 8 mins a week ago, having not run for well over a year, the aim is to get under 7 mins be the end of Feb, which is doable with my current rate of improvement.

I’ve found over the years that on a Friday after a week at my day job I really enjoy having a drink and binge on junk food, and then on Saturday I’ve got a bit of a hangover from both and it’s not a great day to be working out, so I ease back into the healthy eating again over Saturday with a few snacks of junk and maybe a fizzy pop or something, and then by Sunday I’m good to go again with the exercise and proper healthy eating.

It’s taken me several years to work out what works best for me, and at the moment Sunday to Thursday exercising and healthy eating with 2 days off at the end is working the best.

I’m finding that by the Friday I’m ready for a day off the exercise, what with my day job on the fruit farm, and also I’m really looking forward to some junk food and some alcohol too.

And then by Sunday I’m definitely ready to not have any junk etc again for another 5 days. I avoid any sort of temptation by simply not having any kind of junk food in the house during the week, and what ever I buy on the Friday I make sure it’s gone by Saturday night.

Right thats that, I’m off to relax my little legs after that workout whilst doing some business stuff!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

