New Year – Same Old Shit, Or Is It?

Well, the new year is a month old now, and it feels the same as last year. Working at the Apple orchard, coming home lifting some weights, working on the business, then doing it all again the next day.

Same old shit?

No, actually it’s not.

I’ve got another year of experience in my day job at the Apple orchard. Not that I want to do this long term, but I’ve now got 6 solid years of horticultural knowledge, which I know will serve me well for the rest of my life when it comes to growing fruit and veg, which is always good because it gives me a deeper appreciation for how much effort goes into growing real food.

I’m stronger and fitter than last year. I can lift heavier weights in all my big lifts. Deadlifts, Squats, Overhead Presses and Ring Pushups are all up on last year, and the same goes for all the other movements.

On top of that I’m now back running again. I made the decision to buy a running machine, as I was using the shitty weather and lack of decent running paths as an excuse to not run. Which is stupid because I love running.

Although I must add I only love short distance running. I only do 1 mile runs, or HIIT. I might occasionally throw in a 2 or 3 miles run, but thats rare. I much prefer short distance, bust a gut runs.

And my business is still going, and is bigger than it was last year. Still no-where near as big as I want it to be, but it’s all about baby steps whilst I get my personal life sorted out, so it’s all good.

I’ve got plans in operation that should see me change my day job within the next few months which will leave me more money each month to put into the business, and it will also involve moving back to a town I said I would probably never go back to.

But that’s for another post, as the plan is still at the beginning and I need to work out how it’s going to go first.

So, no, it’s not the same old shit, it just feels like it when I’m tired and been working on the business for too long doing fecking VAT stuff.

Ah well, it’s time for a rum and coke, and maybe some Mario Kart.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

