Its the end of 2013 – Are you a better person than last year?

Well, yet again it’s been a long time since I last posted. Between the day job on the fruit farm, the evening and weekend job of running my small businesses, exercising and helping my partner exercise to lose fat, I just haven’t really had the time to sit down and write anything, not that I have anything in particular I wanted to say, I suppose I just haven’t needed to write anything down of late either.

Anyway, it’s the end of 2013 and this year has certainly been a great year. As normal I never set out with any particular goals written down, but I do have some in the back of my head.

This year I simply wanted to be lifting more weights on the main lifts than I did last year, and I wanted to business to still be in existence, and both of those have been a success!

The business is still going, although we nearly killed it, and technically it is holding on by its teeth, but 2014 should see it begin to hold its own, but we have got to get properly serious about it for it to do so. It does mean having to make some serious changes in our personal lives, most importantly changing our day jobs, as we simply can’t move forward with the business on our current low wage.

On the fitness front my strength has increased, my figures on main lifts have increased, although I didn’t really test them until the end of this year, they’re still higher than last years, so that’s good enough for me!

Living in a real house has made a big difference, in that it has enabled me to be consistent with my lifting. When I was living in the caravan any kind of bad weather was used as an excuse to not exercise, and it’s no wonder my lifts didn’t increase as much as I had wanted them too because of it.

But this year, I’ve made as much of a plan as I can without actually writing one down, and here I am year-end having increased my squat by 12kg (122kg to 134kg), my deadlift by 12kg (152kg to 164kg) and my overhead press by 5kg (62kg to 67kg) which I am pretty happy about.

The aim for the first 3 months of 2014 is to stop with the heaviest lifting and only build up to about 90% of my current max, do more reps with medium weights and bring in some form of cardio. I haven’t decided if it will be running or skipping yet, either way I want to bring some in for some condition as I’ve missed that out too much this last year and found myself out of breath doing things in my day job that I shouldn’t have been.

And that pretty much sums up my year. The business has taken up all waking and spare hours, and it’s been pretty daunting really. But looking long-term it has to be done. I just cannot see myself being where I am now by the time I get to 40 (3.5yrs), in fact I can, but I don’t want to be here as I won’t be able to enjoy the things I want to, and I want to build something, off my own back, something ethical, something meaningful.

Anyhoo, here’s to next year, as always I’m not setting any goals, but if I get to the end of 2014 fitter or as fit as I am now, the business is still going, and I’m still with my partner, then it will have been a success!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

