Take a look at our stats and further info for the new fitness regime.

So here we go then – I’ve decided to post up our stats for the fitness regime we’ve both begun.

Both of us feel like doing this so that we can share our findings/results and if they are as we hope then someone may well get inspiration to give it a try too.

Just to recap:

Dena is conducting 6 days of H.I.I.T (High Intensity Interval Training) based on the P.A.C.E technique for 12 minutes each day.

And I am doing 5 core strength exercises twice a week (various reps and sets which I’ll get to in the next update) which are Push Ups, Pull Ups, Squats, Lunges and Overhead Presses all at a real slow pace of about 5 seconds on each of the eccentric and concentric phases.

My start date has been pushed back to this week as I didn’t prepare myself properly last week, but that’s neither here nor there – I’m doing my first workout tomorrow evening after working at the orchard because there’s no chance in hell I’m doing it first thing in the morning on an empty stomach!

Anyhoo – here are our starting stats:

Dena

Height: 170cm

Weight: 97.9kgs

Waist: 44.5 inches

Hips: 45.5 inches

Bust: 44.5 inches

Thighs: Left – 28.25 inches, Right – 28.25 inches

Bottom: 48 inches

Dena has no specific weight loss goal or to reach anything within a set time frame, but we are doing an initial 10 week stint and then we’ll assess where she is at.

From her starting stats Dena has said that ideally she wants to be able to lose a about 12kgs in body weight (not necessarily in 10 weeks remember) meaning she wants to be under 14 stone (85kg) for the first time in a number of years but really the weight isn’t the issue if we can get her inches into the range she wants them.

Her inches mean that she wants to shed about 6 inches from her waist, hips and bust, plus about 4 inches from her thighs – a high target but again we’re not setting a time frame on this, so as long as she makes small improvements each month we’ll both be happy.

Dena already does some intense Belly Dancing once a week which I think has meant she has got bigger legs than most women simply because of all the leg exercises she does – and let me vouch right now that it’s a fact that she has ‘real’ strong legs … but I won’t say any more! 😉

Anyway, like I said we’re focusing on her losing inches rather than actual weight – sure I know that she will lose weight eventually but she’s already got decent muscle mass from working at the Apple orchard all day and her belly dancing but it’s covered with a layer of fat – which we’re aiming to reduce and if the weight goes too then great.

Onto my stats:

Mike

Height: 163cm

Weight: 64kgs

Waist: 33 inches

Chest: 37 inches

Upper Arms (around bicep and tricep): Left – 11.5 inches, Right – 11.5 inches

Thighs: Left – 20.5 inches, Right – 21 inches

I’ve set myself a weight gain goal but not a target.  I have no specific weight that I want to be, but I do know that I want to put on muscle mass as the extra weight and not fat!

I’m more interested in seeing inches go ‘on’ my arms, chest and legs, and if I lose an inch or two from my waist then great, but I’m happy enough with my waist size so I won’t be bothered if I don’t.

I feel that with the endurance benefits I get from the work at the Apple orchard that I don’t need to focus any energy outside of this so instead I’m training with strength exercises which will hopefully increase my muscle mass.

I’m going to be upping the difficulty of the strength exercises after a few weeks by adding some weight to my body (backpack with weights in more than likely) so that my body has to constantly adapt to the changes – which in turn should mean more muscle growth.

Again like I said above, I’m not aiming for any particular weight gain, but it will probably come with the added muscle mass, more that I am looking for increased inches on each of my stats within the 10 week period and then after that the aim will be to maintain it.

So there we go that’s our starting stats up for all to see – it gives you an idea hopefully of where we are at and where we want to go.

Every 2 weeks I will post an update with our new stats on, so you can see with us any changes that are happening – initially I was going to do it monthly but I wanted to see more often how things were going, and if it wasn’t as we hoped we can look at things closely and see where we can makes improvements.

Along with the new fitness regime we are also changing our eating habits to align more with a Paleo/Primal type of eating.

We’re not going anywhere near the hardcore side of these, but we are cutting out a massive amount of grains from our diets and adding in more fats to replace these.

The reason being is that I have come across various articles and information that leans me towards grains being a huge cause of a lot of our health problems – if you can call them that.

Dena being at a fat level that can’t really be explained considering her high activity levels.

Dena feeling drowsy after eating certain meals, specifically lunch where we used to eat a high amount of grains.

Me feeling drowsy after eating certain meals, specifically lunch, again where I used to eat a high amount of grains.

Me having strange rashes pop up on my hands and knees after consuming high grain meals (only just noticed this one recently) – not ichy but just red and they disappear within about 3 hours of eating the meals.

All these signs point to us eating far too many grains, something which we both should have noticed before me reading this Paleo/Primal info, but alas sometimes you can have something right in front of you but just not see it.

I am pretty confident that once we eliminate a huge percentage (75%) of the grains from our diets that we will see a change in these effects we get from them – and also it should have a knock on effect to our fitness goals too.

We’re not going to eliminate all of the grains we eat, simply because we love our chicken and rice stir frys we have once a week, and also I love my bangers and mash – OK mash isn’t a grain, but it’s a carb I am going to cut down a lot on and replace with more protein and fats.

Anyhoo, that’s our stats and a bit of info for you, I hope you will stay tuned for the next update in 2 weeks time!

Until next time…

WeeMike

One thought on “Take a look at our stats and further info for the new fitness regime.

Leave a Reply

