Why I feel liberated after taking a squat shit!

I’ve just taken a really liberating shit, and it made me realise how much I’m thankful for going to New Zealand in 2003-04 and having to shit in the bushes.

In 2003 my partner and I decided to quit our office jobs, sell most of our possessions and go on a working holiday to New Zealand for a year.

Whilst there and amongst various other harvest trail work we did – we picked kiwi’s.

Because the kiwi fields we so huge we would often be a good 10 minute walk away from the nearest toilet – so we had to improvise.

And this improvisation meant we had to cop-a-squat in the nearest bushes to go to the toilet.

As the year went on, I continued to squat in the nearest bushes to take a shit – even if there were toilets close to hand.

And here we are 6 or so years later and I am still squatting to take a shit.

I’m not going in bushes as much any more, but when I use a toilet I squat on top of it because it feels so god damn natural!

I remember a few months back when it was really cold in the orchard (about -8) and it was too cold to take my trousers off completely in the outside toilets, so I chose to sit down all scrunched up to take a shit.

Man it was uncomfortable, it took me about 5 minutes to actually get the shit to come out of my sphincter.

Never again I said to myself, and since then I’ve just grinned and bared the freezing cold and whipped my trousers off and squatted to take a shit.

I’ve just done a little Googling research on the interweb and it turns out that actually squatting to take a shit is better for you than the scrunched up version most people do.

And it seems us ‘westerners’ should take a leaf out of the ‘eastern’ peoples books and squat to take a shit more regularly.

Apparently when you scrunch up to take a shit on a western toilet you squish your bowels up and it makes it harder for the shit to exit your sphincter – and when it finally does, it actually scraps the sides of your bowels and can leave deposits, which can in the long term cause various health issues.

When you squat to take a shit it apparently straightens out your bowels and your shit can exit your sphincter all in one piece.

Well, I can vouch for that 100%!

When I just took a shit I noticed how clean and empty I felt after having my shit exit my body, and it may just be me but it felt really good coming out my sphincter.

Now don’t get squimish on me, we are all supposed to be adults, so we can talk about things like this!

When the shit was exiting my body I could actually feel it moving down through my system and it felt amazing – I’m not sure why I was more concious of it this time more so than I have been over the last 6 or so years, but I could literally feel the shit moving down through my bowels, and finally out through my sphincter.

When that last bit of shit had plopped into the toilet water I felt so liberated, it was quite amazing!!

So I say to you dear reader – go try a squat shit and you’ll be amazed at the difference.

You may struggle to find your balance etc but just prop yourself up by holding on to something whilst your squatting – and don’t give me this crap (excuse the pun) that you can’t squat, because if you can’t then your a poor excuse for a human and you need to get yourself fit and nimble, so there!

H’ok that’s enough of that – I’m sure I share far too much on this here interweb, ohwell better out than in (D’OH another pun).

Until next time…

WeeMike

5 thoughts on “Why I feel liberated after taking a squat shit!

  1. Dreamer 30/01/2011 / 6:05 pm

    Mike, just wanted to say Hello and that your writing is some of the most refreshing and authentic I have read in a long time. Please keep on writing.

    D x

    • WeeMike 30/01/2011 / 7:58 pm

      Hi!

      Um, blimey, not sure what to say – thanks would be a good start, not had compliments on the blog before!! 🙂

      Glad you like it, I try not to write about every day subjects and what I do write about may be a bit here and there, but I hope it’s something different than you’ll read elsewhere.

      I’ve been reading your blog for a month or so now and I’d like to say that it’s great to hear from someone like you – e.g someone who has escaped the 9-5, keep up your posting too!!

      Until next time…

      WeeMike

  2. Dreamer 30/01/2011 / 6:12 pm

    Also wanted to say that I just read your post about going to Canada.

    Canada was also on the top of our list but we didnt qualify for a visa. Its quite difficult (try impossible) to get a visa to live/work there you know?

    Have you thought about Portugal?

    • WeeMike 30/01/2011 / 8:02 pm

      Hello again!

      Yeah I’ve heard that Canada is hard, but I’m hoping that having an aunt and uncle who have done it will help me and my partner.

      It took them 7 years to get perminant residency but they’ve done it and although my situation is very different, I’m hoping they will be able to help – in the end though we can only try, it’s all a learning curve, and far better to try something different than do something familiar I say!!

      I have actually thought about Portugal, but I am worried about the lack of money etc in the whole country (and as I’ve got none behind me, that is a big hurdle to overcome!)- we had a couple come to the orchard to pick apples last season who go to Portugal every year, but only for 6 months as they can’t get perminant work!

      But it is something I’ve got on my list of places to visit if Canada doesn’t work out.

      Cheers

      Until next time…

      WeeMike

Leave a Reply

