How do you know when it’s time for change?

My life is exactly how I set it out to be 2 years ago, and yet I find that I’m in need of a change.

I’ve been working at an Apple orchard for just over 2 years now and am as happy as I have ever been in a job.

I’ve been living in a caravan on site for nearly a year and I have all the things that I want in my life to make living in the caravan comfortable.

I’ve got spare income that I can invest/save/spend on what I like.

I have a few close friends locally, and I have found a number of local producers that produce certain foods I want to eat, and I eat much healthier than I have ever done.

I am fit and healthy, in fact probably healthier than I have ever been, I have a loving partner who supports me in anything I do or want to do.

For all intents and purposes my life is exactly how I planned it would be 2 years ago.

From reading those above statements you’d think my life is great, and I don’t have any desire for change.

Right now that couldn’t be further from the truth.

I made some new year resolutions, I have already completed 1 of them and I am working towards the others.

But something happened 2 weeks ago that has made me question everything I have or am doing right now.

I realised that I needed to change jobs a few months ago – my current one pays just above minimum wage, which is enough to sustain me, but if I want to live in a flat or house I would have to live a very minimalist lifestyle, which would mean no satellite tv, no internet, no mobile phone.

Now doing without those few bits of technology may not sound very minimalist to some people, but I like technology and I love the freedom it allows me to find the information I want when I want, and to entertain myself the way I want when I want.

If I was to live in a flat/house on this current wage, I wouldn’t be able to afford those few bits of technology, so I continue to live in a caravan.

I’ve also realised that I don’t want to live in the UK anymore.

Both myself and Dena want to be somewhere that is bigger than the UK, somewhere that has more space, more country, somewhere with a different challenge than the UK.

And that is the major point about our current situation – we want a challenge.

So as of this weekend we’ve realised that its time for a change.

I’ve got an aunt and uncle in Canada who have been on at me and my partner a number of times to go over there and check things out.

So – you’ve probably guessed it, we’ve decided to go to Canada and see what the possibilities are like for us out there.

We looked at it a number of years ago, before we came to the apple orchard, but we’ve not really thought about it since.

However, the time now feels right.

Given our current situation of earning a low wage and living in a caravan, going over to Canada will certainly be a challenge – and one that we are very excited about.

I’ll go into more detail about how we’re going to do this in another post soon, but for now all I will say is that we’re aiming to go at the beginning of June.

We could wait for another year and ensure we save up as much money as possible, but we’ve decided to get back to doing things like we used to – quickly and decisively.

We used to make decision’s and then act on them straight away, it never mattered about the long-term situation, we made a decision and acted on it immediately – and it’s seen us right for the last 12 years together, we’ve met some amazing people and been to a some cool places doing this.

It’s strange how since being at the orchard for the last 2 years, we’ve not made instant decisions on things, we’ve thought about the future too much, and lost focus on the present.

That’s how we know that it’s time for a change and we’re going to make something happen.

It’s certainly going to be an interesting 4 months until June – and for the first time in a while I’m genuinely really excited.

So excited in fact that I’m off for a cup of tea and a choccy biscuit!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

