Seasonal Cooking: Bramley Apple and Blackberry Crumble

Seeing as though it’s now the perfect time to get hold of Bramley Apples and Blackberries here in the UK I took it upon myself to make my first crumble yesterday – and I thought I’d share the recipe with you!

As we live on an Apple orchard it was very easy to get the main ingredients for the crumble as I went to the farm shop in the orchard and grabbed a couple of Bramley Apples (which we probably picked ourselves!) and then I walked around the orchard picking Blackberries from the hedge rows!

The recipe I used to make the crumble was as follows…

For the crumble topping:

  • 170grms – Plain Flour
  • 75grms – Butter
  • 75grms – Demerara Sugar or as in my case I just used Brown Sugar as we didn’t have any Demerara

Then for the crumble base:

  • 200grms – Blackberries
  • 2 – Bramley Apples – Medium Size
  • 2 – Tablespoons of Water
  • 3 – Tablespoons of Sugar

Preheat your oven on gas mark 5 (400f / 204c).

Peel and core the Bramley Apples, then chop them into small ‘ish’ slices or chunks – then put them into a sauce pan.

Add the 2 tbl spoons of water and 3 tbl spoons of sugar to the sauce pan and cook on a medium heat for about 10 mins or until the whole mixture is a nice mush – give it a stir every now and then.

Once you’ve done that, put the mushy Bramley Apples into your crumble bowl or dish and put to one side to allow the mixture to cool slightly.

Get a mixing bowl and add the flour and butter and gentle rub it together with your fingers until it forms fine bread like crumbs.

Add the Demerara sugar and mix up briefly.

Pour the Blackberries into the Bramley Apple mush and mix up, then add the crumble topping and pat out to form an even top.

Pop it into the oven for about 30-45 minutes or until the topping has turned golden brown.

Take it out of the oven and serve with either custard, vanilla ice cream, your own topping of choice or of course eat it on its own!

If it all goes to plan it should look something like this…

 

Bramley Apple and Blackberry Crumble
Bramley Apple and Blackberry Crumble

 

Seeing as though it was my first time at making it I am pretty proud of the way it came out.

The crumble topping could have been a bit more golden, which I think may well have been because I didn’t use Demerara sugar, but it tasted delicious anyway!!

So there we go an easy to make seasonal recipe and if I can do it you should be able to too!

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

