Be careful what you ask for – you might just get it!

So today I went to work as normal at the Apple orchard, did my normal job duties, packing fruit and veg for all the markets we have going on at the moment, and at the end of the day I was sat on my caravan porch and I realised that I am now leading the life I set out to lead 6 years ago.

It wasn’t an ‘aha’ moment or anything, just a calm realisation that came over me.

6 years ago after coming back from backpacking in NZ and experiencing rural living I remember saying to myself that all I wanted was to live in caravan on a farm with food in my belly and clothes on my back.

I had had enough of consuming for the sake of it and obtaining various gizmos and gadgets that I didn’t really need and I just wanted to get back to the land – I’d never worked on the land nor really lived on it in a rural sense but after having certain experiences in NZ I realised that I wanted to live rurally and work on the land.

I have never felt as happy as when I was in NZ working on the land and so I made a conscious decision to get a rural job and lifestyle.

I say I did, but it was a joint decision by me and my partner Christina, we’ve always been on the same wavelength together and thankfully we’ve always been able to agree on the correct thing for us to do.

So, when we got back from NZ we become what we called more natural by replacing as much of the processed foods, chemical filled consumables and various other aspects of our lives with real foods, natural consumables (if there is such a thing) and tried to minimalise the rest of our lifestyles.

We started by replacing as much of the food we ate from supermarkets with locally sourced whole food and using more natural consumables like natural toothpaste and shampoo’s etc.

We stopped consuming for the sake of it and we never brought anything that we didn’t need.

We then talked together about what jobs we could or more importantly wanted to do, that were more natural – something that produced things that people really needed and appreciated.

That last part took us nearly 2 years to get even close to – over that time the replacing our food and consumables with more natural alternatives became second nature, but yet we still hadn’t decided on what jobs we wanted to do.

Only when my partners parents decided to move to the South West of England did we get an idea of what we could do.

We decided that we had had enough of city living and just upped sticks and moved to the South West of England following after them, we stayed in their summer-house for a few months, whilst looking for our ideal job.

We thought to ourselves that working outdoors with food would suit us – seeing as though we enjoyed ourselves in NZ so much!

But did the fact that NZ was only temporary make it seem more appealing, knowing that it would come to an end and we weren’t doing it full-time?

We didn’t know but we had left the city and moved to the country with the aim of getting our ideal job, and we decided that farm jobs would be the answer.

We weren’t sure if it was going to be with animals or with produce, or with the environment but either way at the least it was going to be an outdoor job!

But things didn’t quite turn out the way we thought they would.

Another 2 years passed by and we hadn’t managed to get farm jobs, or even outdoor jobs, not for the want of trying mind you.

Everywhere we approached wouldn’t take us on because we had no experience – we didn’t have the money to train in a particular job so we become disillusioned with everything and decided it was time for another change.

So we sold as many of our possessions as we could and we went volunteering for 9 months on a herb farm!

After that we ended up in Denmark harvesting Christmas trees and then by a turn of fate when coming back to the UK we ended up working on an Apple orchard pruning the Apple trees over winter.

And we’ve been here for nearly 2 years!

So here I am sat in my caravan on a fruit farm with food in my belly and clothes on my back – just like I said I wanted 6 years ago.

Life has a funny way of giving you what you ask for!

And yet something isn’t quite right.

After being here for the last few seasons I now find myself yearning for something else – what it is I’m not sure yet but something is still missing from my life, I just need to work out what it is.

Anyway – the point of this post was to give a brief if somewhat drawn out overview of our lives over the last 6 years or so, and to try to give an idea of what this blog is about or at least what it WILL be about from now on.

Until next time…

WeeMike

Leave a Reply

