Got a fulltime job atlaaaast!

After spending the last few months looking, I have finally been offered the job I have wanted for a long time!

The orchard where we are working now has offered us both full-time jobs for the next year, which is fantastic as it means we can continue gaining the skills we want, and also be in one place for a while.

It was around this time last year that we both left full-time office jobs looking for something outdoors, with fruit, veg or something else.  And we had to go volunteering for 6 months first, then Apple picking, then Christmas Tree branch harvesting, then Apple Tree pruning and then finally we have a job that we both really want, woooo!

It’s so fecking great I feel like running around the herb field naked, hmmm, hang on……..

Ok, maybe not.  But for me personally its something I have wanted since around September time last year.  When we were coming to the end of the volunteering time, I really wanted to continue working outdoors, and it didn’t matter with what, animals, food, plants in general etc, I just wanted to continue being outside all day.

For me it’s not about one thing, I just like being active and working the land.  It’s obviously got to be sustainable as I couldn’t work the land by destroying it, I just couldn’t do it.  But anything where I can dig, get my hands dirty, get sweaty and feel knackered at the end of the day, all whilst being outside is great with me, and to now be able to do it with fruit and veg is even better!!

So, we’re now looking for a caravan to live out of, and we’re going to be able to put it somewhere on the orchard which will be great too, as it means we will be away from anyone, and our lickle cat Sid can live in peace and quiet too, just how we all like it!!

It’ll be fantastic to wake up to chirping birds in the fruit trees, and deer/rabbits nibbling the buds, and the river, oooh I can’t wait.

One thought on “Got a fulltime job atlaaaast!

  1. wonker 19/03/2009 / 2:45 am

    Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

Leave a Reply

